We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Quarters Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarters Hermanus
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We had a suite room. Stunning! Bright, clean, amazing decor and style. The best hotel room we stayed in during our trip to South Africa.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is excellently located right in the heart of Hermanus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabuKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 238 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

Lovely, comfortable, well-equipped rooms, very pleasant staff, and secure car park. I preferred to keep lowered the screen dividing bedroom from bathroom area, also to help keep the room dark enough. Just 2 minuses: We also were disturbed by the chair scraping noises (from the restaurant below?) from 6am; also the pool/sun terrace area is a bit of a joke - both are tiny, water a bit murky, lose the sun about 4pm, and worst, there is an extractor funnel from the next door restaurant belching noise and smells all day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Lovely hotel with superb views. Location excellent, being just across the road from the seafront. Rooms were lovely, beds were comfy and staff very welcoming. Basement car park very secure. Breakfast was just across the road in a small cafe but very nice with a good choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

2 min walk to seafront, really lovely staff, amazing room with super luxurious beds! Breakfast across the road in the cafe was lovely. Only complaint was staff up at 6am outside our room door making lots of noise and scraping chairs above us meant we got up very early!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night on Nov 10th. It is done to a high standard and was personalised with a welcome note and even the next day's weather. The hotel is next to the action and as parking is included in a secure underground parking, that takes away the headache of finding a spot in this busy town. Absolutely brilliant a swim in the pool overlooking the bay was an added plus before checking out! The restaurants nearby are fantastic as well as the bars.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the ocean and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Location, location, location...this hotel has it. With views of the ocean and restaurants, shopping, right outside the door, we couldn't have asked for any more. If you want to spend time enjoying the view from your room, I'd definitely book a suite since the standard rooms don't have balconies. We still had a great view of the ocean but no balcony; we used the pool deck for that! The staff were very helpful and the rooms were all that you'd expect.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windsorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed four nights in this lovely hotel. The 3rd floor suite was luxurious, obviously very recently renovated/completed, big living room/modern kitchen, nice bedroom with an integrated bath, shower and a separate toilet. From both rooms access to a great balcony facing the sea, the living room glass doors can be opened over the total width of the wall, so that the living room and the balcony become one.The suite was impeccable, daily cleaning/maintenance of the highest standard, and the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel does not have a restaurant, the breakfast is served in a high quality deli across the street, and the location in the old harbour is perfect with good restaurants right next to the hotel. The old harbour, just a few steps from the door, is perfect fow whale watching - if you have a 3rd floor suite facing the sea, you can also watch whales right from you balcony. A terrific hotel - we will be back !

Room Tip: Suite 15, 18 with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuTaBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hermanus

Address: P.O Box 393 | Cbd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $152 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus is considered to offer the best land based whale watching on the African continent. Quarters Hermanus is located on the historic Hermanus Harbour. The suites are tastefully decorated in a modern style. The rooms feature splendid views of the mountain cliffs or the magnificent ocean below. The hotel offers many leisure facilities and modern room amenities. The hands on management team ensure efficient service delivery to all our guests needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quarters Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hermanus Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing