We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely food, warm service”

Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #17 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: FABIO’S Ristorante Italiano ,Humble hospitality, authentic Italian cuisine accreditted by the Italian Chamber of Commerce Hospitalita Italiana, nothing could be more Italian in flavour and atmosphere outside of Italy!The ambience starts with the sidewalk tables and colourful décor and continues into the restaurant with Italian music and warm welcomes from all the staff. The main menu offers veal specialities, cooked the Italian way with wine, garlic and olive oil. Other dishes include steaks, seafood homemade pasta's & thin crispy pizza's(only calzone in the Overberg) and we offer Wheat&Gluten free pizza bases & pasta's (Including Banting Pizza bases available ) and desserts include Italian frozen ice creams, sorbets and homemade tiramisu. Local & Italian wines feature on this extensive wine list alongside great grappa’s and after dinner liquers like Limoncello, Averna and Ramazotti.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Homely food, warm service”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

There's something comforting about going back to your favourite local restaurant and the same staff are there to greet you every time. The homemade lasagna, cannelloni, alfredo pasta etc are absolutely delicious. This is Italian food at its best. Make a reservation as the restaurant is often fully booked.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    137
    62
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with great food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Found this place by accident when I shot down Peters Lane in Hermanus looking for a parking spot to go to another restaurant. The décor is decidedly Italian and we had a great waitress who likened upon our accent. We left it up to her to bring us the most popular pizza on the menu along with a good quality red and we weren't disappointed. Reasonably priced with a cozy atmosphere we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this little restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deandownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian at it's best”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

When you want Italian food, great service and food to die for "so to speak" then Fabio's is the one and only. Set in a alley close to the ocean the atmosphere is unmistakable Italiano.

When ordering "Gorgonzola, Funghi e Spek - Pizza" try it with figs ;)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iclazion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

What can I say - excellent food, excellent waitress!! Well done! We will definitely be back. Even the kids (7 years old) said that they want to come back.

Helpful?
Thank KayakJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I ordered a filletto (medium to rare) with the special sauce.
It came to me raw and unpleasantly small.
The waiter was also leaning on our table chit chatting about her life as we were still deciding what we wanted to order.

Otherwise the music and atmosphere was amazing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brotatochip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PADRINOHERMANUS, Owner at Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Brotatochip, we acknowledge your review & thank you so much for the positive comments about my establishment however would like to know if you raised the issue of the underdone steak as we cannot recall anything of such happening, we also would like to know that we have a policy stated on our menu that if anyone has an issue to please raise it otherwise it will be taken as everything was ok and all went well. Please note that our BEEF FILLET portions are 250g wet weight and never smaller, always larger, perhaps you not sure what 250g is and it is stated on our menu. With regards to the Table attendant mentioned chatting away, I believe she was answering all the questions your partner was asking, therefore all the chatting , thank you for your feedback and have discussed the steak issue with staff however they too cannot comment as the issue was not raised, thank you and regards Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing