We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #17 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Seafood, Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: FABIO’S Ristorante Italiano ,Humble hospitality, authentic Italian cuisine accreditted by the Italian Chamber of Commerce Hospitalita Italiana, nothing could be more Italian in flavour and atmosphere outside of Italy!The ambience starts with the sidewalk tables and colourful décor and continues into the restaurant with Italian music and warm welcomes from all the staff. The main menu offers veal specialities, cooked the Italian way with wine, garlic and olive oil. Other dishes include steaks, seafood homemade pasta's & thin crispy pizza's(only calzone in the Overberg) and we offer Wheat&Gluten free pizza bases & pasta's and desserts include Italian frozen ice creams, sorbets and homemade tiramisu. Local & Italian wines feature on this extensive wine list alongside great grappa’s and after dinner liquers like Limoncello, Averna and Ramazotti.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner here tonight. The bruschetta was perfect. Husband had a great steak and the choccie brownie rounded it off nicely. Friendly service too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank delphi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    129
    59
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We were not sorry that Johann suggested we go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a lovely meal here in December with our Hermanus friend Johann. Food was wonderful and service was fine. Ossobucco was lovely and steak cooked to perfection. Would eat here again if we did not live quite so far away!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susietoo_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I always thought that a "pizza was a pizza"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had the most amazing meal here. Shared a pizza with a friend and it was out of this world. Until trying this pizza, I did not realize that you got "pizza".. and then you get "PIZZA". I keep on dreaming about it. It was huge and crispy and tasty and divine. It was more than enough for us to share, with a piece left over even!

The service was passable. The wine quite pricey at R27 a glass. Beers well priced, however.

The waitron said that the pastas are as good as the pizzas - I cannot wait to get back to Hermanus to taste test their promise.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Treatums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Local is Lekker!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Best Italian food in the Southern Hemisphere! Fabio's special pizza with an egg in the centre is unique and taste bud explosion. If you can't read the menu they supply authentic Italian reading spectacles. How is that for going that extra mile for your patrons. Intimate, cozy with decor and background Italian music for that real Italian experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jpoptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Fabio's is a must and a favourite of ours and we recommend to our guests with confidence. Yummy soup, and pasta was divine. Great thing also is the veranda area - reminds me of Rome, and the deli inside!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffelske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing