We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fresh fish”

Fisherman's Cottage
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Fishermans Cottage is a small and intimate restaurant set in the Old Harbour Village of Hermanus. Owners Anton,Nicole (& Sascha) and their small team, welcome their guests to experience fresh Fish and Seafood served with energy and love.A few delicious Meat and Vegetarian options are also available with a local Wine List reflecting the beautiful wines of our region. Open: Monday to Thursday- Dinner Only (17:00-21:00) Friday and Saturday Lunch and Dinner (12:00-21:00) Sunday - Lunch Only (12:00-14:30)
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh fish”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

in a casual cottage with efficient and friendly service. We enjoyed the ambience although we thought it could be a bit cosier by adding cushions and other decoration. Nevertheless, we had a great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank B0kkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    270
    67
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fiskerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very intimate little cottage. Staff friendly. Prices very reasonable.
Lots of locals in which is always a good sign.
Only negative thing to say is that it was fairly cold and draughty,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank col61Sleaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple but generous and high quality”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a converted fisherman's cottage: scrubbed small table with wooden chairs and benches. the sort of place celebrity UK chefs charge premium prices for. We had booked: advisable from the numbers who were there when we arrived, and found to our surprise a Luxembourgeois couple from the same guest house being placed at the next table. Recommendations work well.
We shared a bowl of black mussels as starter and had different fish main courses, followed by a delicious SA dessert. The house wine came in a 50cl carafe, quite enough when you have to drive a couple of miles afterwards.
Friendly, adaptable service and a fine meal at reasonable prices make this a place well worth visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Casual dining. We sat inside by the fire, so warm enough. Fish soup excellent and the lamb curry one of the best I have ever had. Good friendly service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveandLin1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsons Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Casual. Good fish”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A very basic restaurant with very casual but friendly service. No frills but the fish was good. Prices high for the setting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Cottage also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing