We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management needs Improvement”
Review of Eastbury Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastbury Cottage
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This B&B looked lovely so I tried to book for a few months time.

Storm guided me to the Book online form (as I wanted to pay by Credit card).
I submitted my form and awaited Storm’s further instructions.
After a week of hearing nothing I called Storm to which she said I must be confused as she didn’t get the booking form and I therefore did not complete the form correctly.

I forwarded her my booking confirmation to assure her that I was not the one that was confused.

After a further week I emailed again to see if my booking had actually been recognised.
Another week later and I have still not heard a thing back from Storm!

So I can only assume that they are not in need of business and I’ve now booked elsewhere.

A real pity as the B&B looked fantastic but I think management needs to be improved!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JRS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your disappointing experience with trying to make a secure online booking at Eastbury Cottage. We understand your frustration and truly regret that this happened to you.

As the owner, I have sifted back through our email records to ascertain your possibly identity as Storm, our manager is on holiday. I am assuming that you are the guest that feels slighted and will reply accordingly. I discovered that somewhere between your making the credit card enquiry on the secure Booksure form and Storm’s last email to you, that there must have been a gremlin in the system or cyberspace. The moment a guest has completed the credit card enquiry form on our website, a sms alert is sent by Booksure to our mobile phone and a copy of the enquiry to both our mobile and our computer asking us to log in and send a quotation to you, the guest. The guest is also sent a confirmation email that the enquiry was sent to the establishment. No wonder you were upset when you did not hear from Storm! The reason for this was that we did not receive the credit card enquiry alert from Booksure either by sms or email, although it was, according to their records, sent. I called Booksure and they have ascertained that certain of our alert systems were not in place. Historically this happened over a period of 3 days in early June when we received no notifications from them at all. They have now double checked and corrected our profile on their system. Storm had mentioned to me that she had experienced problems with enquiries and payments, but we put it down to South Africa’s intermittent internet when servers went down during the very bad weather that we had experienced when a vast number of emails did not reach their recipients.

Our records show that there was email communication between you and Storm on the 3rd and 4th June only. It appears that after Storm’s last email to you on the 4th June, where she kindly offers to assist you by entering your details into the secure payment system from our side, all communication ceased, each of you waiting for the other to respond and unaware of the external problem that existed and after not hearing from you again, took it that you had made alternate arrangements. Storm left on her well earned leave soon after that and I took over, not realizing that there was any outstanding communication or a follow up due. We sincerely apologise for this oversight.

Storm has run and managed Eastbury Cottage for the past two and a half years as though it were her own business. She is most efficient and capable and the guests love her for her welcoming attitude and willingness to go the extra mile for them (and myself), thereby making Eastbury Cottage one of the most homely and sought after accommodation establishments in Hermanus.

Two positive outcomes have emerged from this regrettable situation. Firstly, our alert systems with Booksure have now correctly been put in place to prevent this happening again, although we are still at the mercy of other internet technology beyond our control. Secondly we have improved our Eastbury Cottage confirmation form since your comments. We have altered the wording and added a step by step guide to make the credit card enquiry easier and more user friendly for our guests.

We trust that you will enjoy your stay in Hermanus and have a very happy one year wedding anniversary in November. I hope that you will consider staying at Eastbury Cottage sometime in the future, when we will try to make it up to you. Kind regards, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Eastbury Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 35 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a great stay at Eastbury Cottage (Garden Cottage) during March 2013. The cottage had everything we needed and we enjoy the private garden. Thanks Storm for the friendly welcome and we would definitely come back to stay in the cottage. The service was very good and they do everhing to make it happen, thank you Pretty for the friendly face in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Garden Cottage. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are most fortunate to have Storm as our manager at Eastbury Cottage. She is very dedicated to making our guests feel welcome and comfortable. Pretty, our senior housekeeper, is rather shy but most pleasant with her lovely smile and we love her super efficiency. She is a valued member of the Eastbury family having been with us for many years. Next time you visit us, we hope you will like the additions and upgradings that we are doing this May/June to the Garden Cottage bathoom and patio. Thank you again for the positive feedback. Kind regards, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were PLEASANTLY surprised when we arrived at Eastbury Cottage on 26.04.2013!!!! Everything was so neat and very well equipped from even an apron in the kitchen to an electric blanket, cushions, umbrella and table cloth for the outside chairs and tables! Wow words seem to not be enough to explain our satisfaction. Our placed was even clean on Saturday 27.04 which fell an a public holiday.

Our two Scottish Terriers enjoyed the lovely enclosed garden! The place is so centrally located that we hardly drove anywhere. We went for walkes to the local market, town and the beach.

It is situated in a lovely quite are and we will MOST DEFINATELY be back very soon!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny-Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Eastbury Cottage and that you found the extra attention to detail made your stay even more comfortable! We do try to make sure our guests have a good memorable experience as everyone is very important to us. Our convenient and central location in Hermanus is enjoyed by our guests who can stroll to the village shops and the seafront and enjoy the fresh champange air...we are most fortunate that guests, like yourselves, enjoy this advantage. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do appreciate it very much. Looking forward to welcoming you when next you visit us. Kind regards, Jenny, Storm and staff at Eastbury Cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A beautiful B&B that is just a 5 minute walk to the sea. Had such a fantastic experience and can't wait to go there again! The service was really good and if you need anything they will try there best to make it happen.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneYelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about the Courtyard Suite at Eastbury Cottage. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to return some day soon - we look forward to welcoming you "back home". Kind regards, Jenny, Storm and the Team at Eastbury Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a great stay at Eastbury cottage, was easy to find. Storm and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room had everything we needed and more, up to a braai set. The guest house was close enough to town that we could walk if we wanted to. It was a fantastic place and value for money, we would definitely recommend it too others that just need a break away!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamsimam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We love to hear from our guests! Thank you for your most positive review - we so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Eastbury Cottage. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Jenny, Storm and the Eastbury Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Eastbury over the Easter period and wow was it a great stay! Everybody on the staff was super helpful and didn't hesitate to go the extra mile. The Rose Room is beautifully furnished and has everything you could possibly need and more. So close to town it was an absolute pleasure for all the needs and wants. Will definitely go back next time I have a holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BominaHarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing Eastbury Cottage for your holiday getaway. We appreciate your positive feedback very much and hope you will return to visit us sometime soon. Thank you! Kind regards, Jenny, Storm and the team at Eastbury Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent three weeks in the courtyard room which was clean and quiet - it was good value and Storm and her team did a good job. The room and its location at the back of the house was not to our liking but it was our choice when booking.

Room Tip: We felt the rear courtyard left us "closed in" and without a view. The courtyard was very...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesL364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about the Courtyard Room at Eastbury Cottage. Our guest input is very much appreciated indeed. We are glad you found the room comfortable and the service good. We would love to welcome you to stay in one of our other units/rooms, when you visit us again, some day. Kind regards, Jenny Storm and the team at Eastbury Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
930 reviews
3.0 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
552 reviews
2.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbury Cottage

Address: 36 Luyt Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range: $55 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastbury Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastbury Cottage offers great position, good value and warm hospitality for holiday or business accommodation. Choose from our 4 spacious and comfortable self-catering units sleeping from 2 to 4 persons plus 2 children. Tastefully decorated and well appointed with attention to detail our fully equipped suites/units offer a complimentary tea/coffee tray and guest toiletries. Each units has a private entrance and outdoor barbeque area and safe off-street parking. Conveniently situated close to the village CBD in the peaceful, established, leafy suburb of Eastcliff, guests may take a 5 minute stroll to the sea front cliff paths, marine tidal pool, shops and restaurants and most amenities while soaking up the sun and breathing the fresh champagne air. The swimming beaches are 5 minutes by car. We are child friendly and can provide a cot for our infant guests. Breakfast is optional. Units are serviced daily. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing