We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

First the positives - It's cheap, it's clean And the continental part of the breakfast is ok.

The location is not great, it is a good drive into hermanus and there is nothing going on in the immediate area. We had a very swift greeting with some random places pointed out, which we still have no idea what she was referring to. There was no map provided or available from reception.

The communal areas do not look as cosy and inviting as they do in the photos. The garden is small and the pool is tiny - more of a pond.

We weren't shown to the room and just pointed up the stairs. We were in the garden room which is spacious but which has a view Over the roof of an extension. The outdoor terrace is covered so shaded and has no view so there'd be no reason to sit out there.

The bed was uncomfortable. The mattress was too hard for my preference but the main issue was that it has a wood frame which meant that everytime one of us moved the bed shook and totally disturbed the other (and we're average sized people). Combined with a noisy fridge in the room we had a couple of very disturbed nights.

Breakfast - coffee is offered from flasks so isn't freshly brewed. The continental choices were quite good but the cooked breakfast was poor. 1 small greasy slice of bacon, eggs, a slice of cucumber, a slice of tomato and what I can only describe as a giant hot dog.

Our final disappointment came with information provided by one of the staff about the reported farm strikes. We were told that the information was from 4 seperate police stations in the local area and that the n2 which was the main route on ours and other guests onward journey was closed, that it was unsafe to travel and it would be 4 or 5 days before the situation would be resolved. We were told there was no other way out of hermanus. You might imagine the consternation and worry this caused. Luckily I was able to do some research via Internet, local news and twitter and this turned out to be totally false. The n2 had been closed due to a nasty incident but this had been 2 nights before and for 4 hours in the night. The local police, who were apparently the source of the staff members information, were reported in the paper as saying that it was all quiet from the polices perspective. The following morning the lady again made a point of hunting us out to say she had again rang the police and although the road was open it was at our own risk to travel. This uninformed scaremongering really spoiled our hermanus stay. Yes, there had been incidents and I do think it is wise to be aware of such issues however this lady's info was factually incorrect and could have had significant impact on our plans and purse!

To be honest, this all just marred an already disappointing stay. I think there are much better alternative options in hermanus itself.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HodgyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhosi-Guesthouse, Inhaber at AmaKhosi Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

We are very sorry for not meeting up to their expectations, truely.
We just tried to help by providing the most actual information.

However we would like to point out some unreasonable comments:
1. Our mattresses are some of the most expensive mattresses available in South Africa and almost in new conditions.
2. The size of our pool is 2,5 meter x 6,5 meter (it is not o "fish pond")
3. Our breakfast is completely included in our very reasonable rates and consits of different types of cold meats and cheese, 2 different marmalades, honey, a nice selction of bread and toast, different joghurts as well as a fresh prepared fruit salad and cereals. The hot breakfast is cooked to order using local premium quality bacon and sausages (its not a "hot dog") and a fresh brewed coffee in flasks (what else could be fresher) or from the dispenser and different types of tea and hot chocolate to order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for AmaKhosi Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 187 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

It s a beautiful guesthouse with beautiful surrounds (2 minute walk from the main beach), tranquil, quiet, friendly staff, best value for money by far, lovely breakfast, very neat, only 5 rooms so not over crowded. I can definitely recommend Amakhosi.

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms and it's all lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room was really lovely with a great shower, the veranda was a really nice touch also. Breakfast was also very good and we enjoyed our stay. The whale watching trip we were offered was amazing (take it up if you go!) and the guesthouse is not too far away from the main town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Friendly hosts, nice room, good shower, near a fab beach (2 minute walk), lovely breakfast, safe for your car as it has big electric gates. Bit out from Hermanus but if you have a car this doesn't matter. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Excellent guesthouse with just a few couples staying. Bedroom was large, very clean and the bathroom had separate shower. Breakfast was cooked to order or there was a good selection of cold choices. The garden had a good pool with plenty of space to sunbathe.

Above all, the staff were extremely friendly and efficient; we have stayed there twice now.

Also, it's easy to find and is a quiet residential area, not far from the sea.

Room Tip: Wilderness suite
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We only stayed at Amakhosi for 1 night as part of our road trip but were very pleased indeed with our choice. It is a beautiful, very stylish and well appointed house in a quiet residential area, around 3kms out of Hermanus, but having been to Hermanus before this did not bother us. Our room was incredibly spacious with lovely furnishings, bright and clean and the ceiling fan was lovely and quiet, enough to keep us cool. The bed really comfortable so we had a great sleep and breakfast was very good indeed. It was amazingly good value for money so we did not mind a short drive to the nearby restaurant of Milkwood in the next village up called Onrus which did great food and is set on the beach itself. We thoroughly enjoyed our comfortable stay at the Amakhosi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 59erstog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We found that the guesthouse wasn't adequately equipped with appliances to make the December temperatures more bareable. It was very very hot when we were there, and although there were 2 heaters in the room, no aircon. Just a ceiling fan which made absolutely no difference. The hosts kept on inviting their friends over which made the swimming pool virtually inaccessible for guests and we didn't feel comfortable to go and swim in an already full swimming pool. Being South African, we also expected a little bit more of the breakfast and it was quite disappointing.

The location and cleanliness of the guesthouse was very good and we can't complain about that.

Please try and cater for the Summer as well, as that would be a great advantage!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAMvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhosi-Guesthouse, Inhaber at AmaKhosi Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

First of all we are happy to receive any comment as we strive for service excellence and take any comment serious.
However in this specific case it looks like someone is trying to draw a wrong picture.
We do not advertise with available airconditioning as Hermanus has a very mediterean climate all the year round and on 360days of the year there is no aircon required. If someone needs aircon there are some guesthouses available offering aircon but for much higher rates. We try to keep our rates as much as possible low for the convenience of our guests.

Secondly if someone is disturbed by the presence of other guests which may use the available braai (we have no time and no need to use the guest garden and pool) then one should book a holiday house in order to have full privacy.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
5.0 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#11 of 85 in Hermanus
325 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
#36 of 85 in Hermanus
76 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
#42 of 85 in Hermanus
43 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#56 of 85 in Hermanus
69 reviews
1.9 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#21 of 85 in Hermanus
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmaKhosi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmaKhosi Guesthouse

Address: Langstraat 17 | PO Box 311, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $61 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AmaKhosi Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmaKhosi Guesthouse is a luxury 4 stars accommodation with spacious en-suite rooms, individually decorated and furnished to themes of Southern Africa.Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at the swimming pool and our spacious rooms with private bathrooms and balconies with views to the mountains, sea or gardens. Take a sundowner on your balcony while you listen to the roar of the ocean and the whisper of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmaKhosi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing