We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of home :)”
Review of Tikka Palace

Tikka Palace
Ranked #38 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Tikka Palace Restaurant in the Village Centre Hermanus offers exquisite traditional Indian & Pakistani cuisine by candle light. All at a reasonable rate! During whale season guests are also amazed by the performance of the whales in the ocean opposite Village Centre.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A taste of home :)”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The food was exquisite. The ambience was very warm and homy. The staff was very helpful and welcoming :)
The daal is a must try !!!!

Helpful?
Thank nameera m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    43
    24
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Most Fantastic dinner at Tikka Palace Hermanus! The only thing better than the food was the exceptional care taken by the owner to insure a wonderful evening and dining experience. Only down side... coming home with an achingly full belly. Cant wait to go back!
Note they are Halaal, so bring your own wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lala-Lalita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like Chris says - a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had walked past the restaurant a little earlier in the evening and were not particularly impressed.However on retracing our steps we met a couple from our trip who has just eaten there and they had no hesitation in recommending the place.They were spot on.The food quality,service and friendliness of the Tikka was excellent.The place does not sell alcohol but a restaurant in the same block was happy to sell us a bottle of red and actually delivered it to us!
The restaurant is a little out of the way and may not be very inspiring on first glance but don't let this sway you.I'm very happy that we spoke to our fellow travellers or perhaps we might not have eaten there and missed out on a treat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank THORPER121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2,093 reviews
1,187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,818 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I love Indian/Pakistani food & really needed a curry, so I thought I'd take a risk & try out this place.
The restaurant is set in a little shopping arcade on the first floor & doesn't look much. We arrived at 8pm & it was pretty quiet which didn't add to my confidence of the place.
The place looks like a 'pop up' type restaurant, where they've just moved in, but up a couple of pictures & started trading.
Menu is limited, but we ordered a selection of mains & kept our fingers crossed.
The food here is excellent & we were pleasantly surprised. The Karai Ghosht was on the bone lamb & was delicious. The chicken Biriyani was excellent. We ordered far too much, but we left happy. Reasonably priced, so if you fancy a curry, ignore the decor & eat here, you will be happy you did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough but expensive.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Halaal restaurant in Hermanus that caters to the Indian palate. It was tasty despite being a different version of authentic Indian cuisine. It is expensive. For 1 aloo paratha, 2 roghni naan and one butter chicken and two drinks we paid R250. The serving portions were small. Tasty and easy to order via telephone to collect and eat as take away
. Service was good and food was hot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadiMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tikka Palace also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Tikka Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing