We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hermanus's wonderful little secret”
Review of Beluga House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beluga House
Ranked #37 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
moira northern ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hermanus's wonderful little secret”
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful guesthouse for 5 wonderful nights in Dec. Lotta and her husband were terrific..couldn't do enough for you. The house was in a great position and was impeccable. The breakfast came freshly made and was a banquet in itself.....A wonderful place....would return anytime

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peejay030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed 4 days at Beluga House. The place is really nice, fresh, clean, cosy, with a "design hotel feeling". The owners Lotta and Pål, gave us a warm welcome and we truly enjoyed our stay.
Superplace!
Henrik from Lund, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The globe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

After ten days traveling around in the Cape area we ended up in Hermanus and Beluga House. Beautiful rooms, perfectly cleaned, everything you need at hand, nice management and staff. The breakfast served is just perfect, freshly pressed orange juice, fresh fruit sallad and your choice of egg, bacon and bread.
This is a place which I gladly return to. Hermanus is the perfect place to spend a couple of days, nice beaches, the whales and the nature and just a couple of minutes to really great winerys.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMagyar
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Very friendly and knowledgable staff. The breakfast is second to none and a great way to start off your day. Extremely convenient to all the sites that Hermanus has to offer. The swimming pool, rooms, decking and surroundings are beautifully and tastefully decorated. Highly recommend staying here for short or long term stays.

Tibor Vorosmarty

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCMagyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljungby Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2009

After a couple of days in a game park we wanted to relax among whales and enjoy the greenery of western cape. We looked for a calm fresh place to stay. We where recommended this place by a friend and what a success! It was absolutely perfect. Close to the centrum but still calm, a stone´s throw from the sea and the whales!
The place is a blend of Scandinavian light air and the Southafrican wildlife. With accents all over from both. We slept tight in the big beds, cooled of in the big pool and ate a breakfast that reached all day to dinner! In between you could chill in the pool corner with something from the "trust" bar.
Thank you Lotta and Pål with staff for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nygaards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in october 2009. Wonderful breakfast, amazing hostess, great rooms, excellent location for whale watching. A real hidden treasure in Hermanus. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chufina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristianstad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2009

During our trip to South Africa we stayed for almost a week in wonderful Hermanus to watch whales, enjoy walks and winetasting and simply relax. We stayed at Beluga house, situated very close to the ocean where we could watch the whales. During our stay Beluga house was like an oasis for the family ( 2 adults, 2 girls 14 and 18). In Beluga house we found the most friendly atmosphere, girls could swim in the pool, we had wonderful breakfasts and Lotta who runs the guesthouse was an excellent help to us planning our days in Hermanus.

The rooms in Beluga house have a wonderful scandinavian design, are very well planned and clean. All rooms face the nice pool and around the pool are cosy chairs where you can relax, enjoy the sun or a glass of wine.

The breakfast is the best we ever had, fresh fruitsalad, fresh orange juice that the guests can make themselves, warm newly baked bread and after that a cooked breakfast with egg and bacon.. if you can fit in more.

One big advantage travelling with teenagers was the free wireless internet connection in Beluga house. Pictures from the whalewatching were publiced on bloggs everyday...

Beluga house was actually best value place of all those we visited during our trip to SA. We really want to go back and meanwhile we hope that this advice will make you try the place. You won´t be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vattenriket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.0 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#25 of 86 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 86 in Hermanus
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Cottage
Cliff Cottage
#30 of 86 in Hermanus
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beluga House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga House

Property: Beluga House
Address: 10 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beluga House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star Guest House in Hermanus with modern accommodation, located just 5 minutes walk from town center. Here you are able to watch the enormous Southern Right Whales from the famous cliff paths across the street. The focal point of Beluga House, is a private 5x10 meter swimming pool. The surrounding decking area provides the perfect location for unwinding after a day’s adventure. All rooms are en-suite double rooms, tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing