We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beluga House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beluga House
Ranked #36 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sollentuna, Sweden
2 reviews
“Cosy and family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our two families of 7 persons stayed a few days at Beluga. The rooms were nicely decorated, very fresh and had everything we needed. Lotta and her staff made us feel very welcome and their breakfast was absolutely fantastic. We loved the poolarea and we used it a lot. We can really recommend everyone to stay there. Next time we come to the area we will definitely stay at Beluga.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Åsa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

What a fantastic place to stay. We had three nights at Beluga and loved every minute. Lotta and her staff made us very welcome; breakfast was fantastic; and our room was perfect (admittedly we had the larger room for just the two of us). We had had busy time with family in the week before we came here and it proved the ideal escape. Great whale-spotting and wonderful restaurants in Hermanus helped a lot but we will definitely return to Beluga

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomcojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just spent the last two nights of our trip here and would highly recommend. Beluga House is a very easy stroll into town or along the cliff path. Although the room was fairly small, it had everything we needed and the pool area was lovely. Lotta was very helpful and the place was spotless. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F&MScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjarred, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our family of five persons spent our two last days in South Africa at Beluga House and it was a great experience. The warm welcome from Lotta and the cosy and tranquil atmosphere was so nice after a day full of activities. The rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated and the bathrooms big. The poolarea was very tasteful and the honesty bar nice. Because of early activities we did not have any breakfast. The first morning we had breakfast in Kleinsbaai before shark diving and the last morning we had to leave early for our flight. However, Lotte was very kind and prepared sandwiches, youghurt and cereals which was highly appreciated. The location of this B&B is a short and beautiful 10 min walking distance to the town center of Hermanus with a great range of restaurants. The beaches are a short drive away. We would love to come back and give Beluga House our very best recommendations!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in November and enjoyed our stay. However, whilst the property is very stylish it does lack in a number of practical areas.

The rooms are on the small side with no real space for storage of luggage. A lack of plug points means that hair drying is almost impossible. Most rooms face the public pool area which can cause problems with privacy.

The property is beautiful though and the pool area is very nice. The breakfast is good albeit a little slow and the earliest breakfast at 8.45am is too late if one wants to do an early trip.

Check in is not possible before 2pm and must be done before 5pm. This is a little restrictive and would appear to be adhered to rigidly. The welcome was a little on the cool side too.

With a little effort a good property could be turned into an excellent option in Hermanus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_edey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for only one night at this B&B and were satisfied with the room and the service. Our room was rather small, but o.k. for a one-night stay. Might be to small if you carry a lot of luggage, but there are other rooms that offer more space. Anyway, the rooms are clean, modern and comfortably. We missed some AC or fan as it got pretty warm inside at night - so had to leave the door open.
Breakfast is o.k., choices are sufficient. The pool, pool area and lounge area are spacious and nice for a sundowner drink. If you want to take a walk thru the cliffs there's a small path to it opposite the house. For joggers you can do your daily run and enjoy the views.For dinner you can walk along the cliffs downtown in 10-15 min.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_BAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in other guesthouses in Hermanus before. I had high expectations after reading the rewiews on Tripadvisor. I was a bit disaponted. The room was very small. The bathrooms had a good size, but the oversized shower did't leave much room for a basin. Average breakfast. A little variation from day to day would be nice when you stay for several nights.The pool area is very nice. So are th location, within walking distance to the restaurants.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PirmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.0 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#22 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#6 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Blu
Villa Blu
#20 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.9 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#16 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beluga House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga House

Property: Beluga House
Address: 10 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beluga House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star Guest House in Hermanus with modern accommodation, located just 5 minutes walk from town center. Here you are able to watch the enormous Southern Right Whales from the famous cliff paths across the street. The focal point of Beluga House, is a private 5x10 meter swimming pool. The surrounding decking area provides the perfect location for unwinding after a day’s adventure. All rooms are en-suite double rooms, tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing