We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for Money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beluga House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beluga House
Ranked #35 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
fensterbattersea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

This B&B/Guesthouse is faultless, on our two week tour of South Africa this was by far the best accomodation we stayed in when considering price as a factor.

The property is so clean and fresh! I could not find a single fault. The breakfast was amazing, my only regret of shark diving was that I got to miss out on the gorgeous breakfast. (they do offer a smaller, DIY breakfast but at 6am in the morning, I skipped it in favour of more sleep)
breakfast consists of fresh fruit, toast/breads and full Cooked breakfast to order.

The property is located a short walk out of town but it is a walk along the coastal path so very enjoyable especially if you are there to whale watch! We were there Mid Novemeber 2011 and saw all the Whales you could possibly wish for. I would also recommend the shark diving organised through the B&B. I was a bit fifty fifty about shark diving but even despite missing the breakfast would definately recommend the experience.

faultless! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fensterbattersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Just love the place! The rooms are beautiful and so is the whole pool area. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. It´s a perfect little walk to the little city centre. Last but not least, we love the breakfast :-). We will definately be back...

Room Tip: It just all depends on how many people checking in, they´re all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I normally don’t write any reviews but it’s only fair to do so in this case. The Beluga House is situated within walking distance to the “city-life” of Hermanus and as well the waterfront. The guest house welcomes you at check-in with its cosy and personal interior. The service minded staff has always a solution or answer to any question and there is really “no problem” of any kind. The room had a really nice bed with giant pillows that made you sleep like a king. The bathroom with its bright colours and a shower with great space! With five, or so, steps from the room the nice pool is waiting for you. Yes, I really enjoyed the stay. The only problem is that you have to wait a whole night before it is breakfast time (the breakfast is fantastic)!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Beluga is a great and stylish guest house well located within walking distance of the restaurants of Hermanus. This was the only place in two weeks trip that I felt like using the pool so it must have been good.
We took the advice of the whale watching information centre and headed off to the other side of the bay, where we were able to watch the Southern Right Whales with their calves from the cliffs above the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I always find it difficult to get the genuine feeling for a place when only staying one night, but at Beluga it is not! You have an immediate feeling of tasteful beauty, fresh and clean and nice, polite and smiling staff. The rooms are not big but holds everything you can wish for, not to mention the nice linnen and thick towels. The breakfast offers a range of cold and warm dishes and you do not leave hungry. The hospitality, personality and kind proffessional assistance is as impeccable as the place itself, we look forward to coming back, soon ...

Thank you Lotta and Pål, you have created a true lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Beluga House is a stunning property, would have been even better if we had enjoyed it in sunnier weather. As it was, the afternoon we arrived was very blustery and the following morning was wet, leading to breakfast indoors rather than as planned on the deck area. Shame about that but no-one's fault. We had maintained an occasional e-mail exchange with Lotta and Paul after initially booking and it was lovely to finally meet them. Lotta and Paul were very welcoming and friendly hosts and on arrival in our room we found two champagne glasses (with a note to direct us to a bottle of fizz chilling in the fridge), plus a bowl of strawberries and little chocs, very kindly put there as a gesture for Cheryl's 50th birthday two days later. Bit mean to refer to our combined 100 years of experience though!!!!! (only joking Lotta).
Lovely king-size bed and more bedding than we knew what to do with, fantastic, the best night's kip we had in two weeks. We could probably have done with one more night in Hermanus and it would have been a pleasure to spend it at Beluga House. Thanks very much you guys.

Room Tip: All rooms are located around the pool, don't think you could have a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fully1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed at Beluga House for 4 nights in september, and had an excellent time there! The accomodation was really nice, with a clean room, nice bathroom and superb breakfast. The wifi was fast and free, which seems to be a bonus i SA, and Lotta´s tips of what to do and where to eat in Hermanus and the surroundings were very useful. The only thing bad was that we had to cancel our kayaktrip with the wales due to illness... We are certainly going back and we´ll surely stay at Beluga House again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#7 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#32 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Cottage
Cliff Cottage
#31 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#11 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beluga House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga House

Property: Beluga House
Address: 10 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beluga House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star Guest House in Hermanus with modern accommodation, located just 5 minutes walk from town center. Here you are able to watch the enormous Southern Right Whales from the famous cliff paths across the street. The focal point of Beluga House, is a private 5x10 meter swimming pool. The surrounding decking area provides the perfect location for unwinding after a day’s adventure. All rooms are en-suite double rooms, tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing