We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch whales while you eat”

Burgundy Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 111 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Sussex
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Watch whales while you eat”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Really tasty food - especially the salads for vegetarians like us. Unbeatable position overlooking the bay

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    760
    214
    66
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great seaside cafe”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Loved sitting outside with good view of the sea. Excellent lunchtime food and good service.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cath212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Walked in for lunch and were seated within a few minutes outside over looking the bay. Good menu (calamari, burgers, steaks, fish etc) and our lunch was good. Small down point was the waitress recommended the strawberry smoothie.....somewhat disappointing when probably the last thing in it was a fresh strawberry (or anything fresh). Aside from that, a pleasant filling lunch. We also noticed that the following evening it was jammed packed for dinner.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TFJ_301J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
388 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A pleasant restaurant on the seafront.”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

A pleasant restaurant on the seafront. The evening menu is short yet offers something for everybody - mix of grill, seafood and local dishes. Everybody was happy with their choice.
Service is very friendly, but by South African standards can be a bit vague. A good place for casual dinner or lunch, mid-priced and good quality.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Surpisingly good”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We made a reservation in "The Burgundy" because it was recommended by our travel booklet and because it was #1 at Tripadvisor. We thought we will come to a real touristy restaurant but we were absolutely suprised by the service we have experienced.
we both had a medium beef filet which was flambed right at our table. The vegetables were fresh and great, the onion rings were absolutely tasty as were the potato wedges.
The staff was very attentive. Our reservation sign on the table had our name on it (not just an unpersonal plate with "reserved" on it. The staff asked my partner who was already finished with dinner if he can take the plate away or if he should wait until I am finished (for those who don't know: it is considered to be rude in parts of Europe if you take away the plate whilst the other one is still eating).
Wine was fantastic as well.
So, in genera, despite the fact that most of the people who eat there are tourists, the service and food is great!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelhex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgundy Restaurant also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Burgundy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing