We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brown Jug Guest House
Ranked #22 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Hermanus”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We've been travelling to Hermanus in South Africa since 2000, twice each year and having stayed in several different places, feel we can comment honestly on Hermanus accommodation. The Brown Jug Guest House is by far the best place to stay. It's a small guest house with three wonderful suites and a huge crystal clear pool. It's close to the village centre and the cliff path for watching the whales and dolphins and other marine life. Handy for all the lovely cafes, restaurants and super little boutiques. Not far from the wonderful white sand beaches looking towards the mountains. Immaculate housekeeping, fantastic value for money..........too cheap if truth be known for the quality of the beautiful suites. But by far the welcome from Louise, Abel and Luke, their son.........not to talk of Mojo, their huge cat and little Kitty who's a sleek and black version and of course their wonderful dog Kesha all of whom give us the warmest of welcomes which makes us feel like we're coming home as we walk through the gate. But don't make the mistake we've made in the past, be sure and book early as they get booked up very fast all year round it seems. So sad to leave you all and we're back in the UK again now but can't wait till we're back with you guys on 1st of December for three weeks. Thanks again for a wonderful welcome. Only 8 months to go!!!

Room Tip: Book well in advance as they get booked up early!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
What more can I say. The Sykes family started out as guests and now we just can't seem "to get rid of them" and this I say in the most affectionate and genuine way. We have become more than friends and our son's who differ three months in age have become really good friends. We always meet and welcome our guests personally with the furry family in tow and have followed this concept from the outset. Personalised service is what we pride our establishment on and making guests feel welcome is our mission.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    40
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
107
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at Brown Jug, this time in the studio apartment, we were surprised how spacious it was. Louise and Abel are the perfect hosts, great company and very well informed. This is a very popular place so book well in advance. The breakfast is a delight so make sure you let Louise cook it for you.Thanks again

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your response and it was really great to see you both again. I am glad that Hermanus and in particular THE BROWN JUG, lived up to expectations. We are always striving to improve our standard and take great pride in offering our guests a personal experience and unforgettable stay in our beautiful village. Hope to see you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been to South Africa a number of times, but this was our first visit to Hermanus.
What a pleasure it was to stay here. We had the "studio" the smallest of the rooms, but it was not small at all, with a big bathroom with both bath and walk in shower, a fully equipped (we couldn't find anything it lacked) kitchen, a small private terrace complete with Weber barbeque and our own covered and secure parking area and entrance path. We also had access to a lovely pool and a laundry room.
There is absolutely nothing we could say about this place that was a negative.
It is close to town for shops, bars and restaurants, very peaceful and the owners were available if we needed them, but completely respected our privacy.
The place was exceptionally clean, very comfortble and exactly what we wanted.
If it was available to us when we want to travel back to Hermanus another time, we will definitely return!
Thanks for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise and Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the detailed review, this is much appreciated. I do hope we will see you next year for Louise's 50th. It was lovely to meet you both and I am pleased Hermanus has captivated you sufficiently to want to return. It really is one of the most beautiful, peaceful destinations and we are privileged to be able to operate our guest house in such a scenic town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have just stayed with Louise and Abel for probably the sixth or seventh time and our reception and stay was as wonderful as always. One of the great advantages of the location of Brown Jug is the ability to walk into the centre of Hermanus without having to worry about taking the car. Already looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks so much Ken and Jean and sorry we could not accommodate you for the full duration of your Hermanus trip. We also look forward so much to seeing our regular guests/friends at different times through-out the year and Keesha, and cats look forward to your return trip as well.
Jean is very involved in Hedgehog rescue and we were delighted and touched to have two rescue hedgehogs named after us.......hope Abel and Louise have been happily returned to the wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babenhausen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It was our second stay at Brown Jug. The stay in Unit 3 was excellently we feel us like at home with the warm and friendly welcome from Louise and Abel. We respected highly the outdoor patio and the barbecue as well as as the piece of advicefor shopping from Louise. The great nice garden and pool invited for relaxing just as much we enjoyed the walk with "Keesha". The kitchen is small but there is all what we need, the bathroom is huge and at the shower there is a lot of space and the bedroom with the bed is very comfortable, the secure cover up parking is also well. Brown Jug is located in a very quiet area and it is a lovely resting place not far from the City Center ideal for walking. We will come back in 2014.

Room Tip: All is well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemwe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
To two of the most genuine people who have stayed with us. Your second visit was an absolute pleasure and we really look forward to meeting your daughters when you return next year. Keesha, the Labrador, has made many friends over the years and is thoroughly spoilt by most of our guests. She appreciated the walks you took her on and I am sure will be equally pleased to meet the extended family. She has quite a following with special friends from Japan, UK, Austria and Germany all of whom return annually.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent a delightful weekend in the Brown Jug Studio unit. What a wonderful break away, with a warm and friendly welcome from Abel and Louise, helpful advice on how to make the most of our rather short stay, while enjoying complete peace and privacy. We loved the patio for relaxing meals, the most comfortable bed for well earned rest after hectic walking and swimming adventures, and the glorious big bathroom with double sized shower.
We will definitely return to the Brown Jug, but next time will make it a longer stay. We really loved every moment of our stay there!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
What nice genuine people you both are. I agree, one night is really to short to experience what Hermanus has to offer. Whether you return in winter or summer, the village and absolute natural beauty of the town has something for everyone. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I work with lots of people and in a noisy environment, so my wife and i decided on a quiet breakaway. We stayed in the Studio Unit which is private and away from outside noises. We had a lovely time and a nice rest. Abel and Louise are two of the nicest people you'll ever meet and are perfect hosts. The Studio Unit has ample space with a firm king size bed which was perfect for a good night's rest. The place is clean and contains everything you might need in a room. Thank You for a great stay and we'll be back! Leon and Rentia Laubscher, Brackenfell ( L & R Sound and Lighting )

Room Tip: For fun in the sun and a swim, choose unit 1 or 2. For more privacy and less sun, choose unit 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you and meeting you both was just as great a pleasure. Thank you so much for the meal voucher you spoilt us with, it was so unexpected and greatly appreciated. We would love to have you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
375 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Kennedys Beach Villa
#5 of 87 in Hermanus
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#11 of 87 in Hermanus
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
0.1 mi away
Anha Casa Guest House
Anha Casa Guest House
#24 of 87 in Hermanus
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Jug Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Jug Guest House

Property: Brown Jug Guest House
Address: 18 Musson Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown Jug Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s true - accommodation in Hermanus that offers a beach view is plentiful, but there are few that provide the welcoming hospitality and comfort that The Brown Jug Guest House has. Not only are you welcomed by the owners, Abel and Louise, when you first arrive, but their friendly staff as well as Labradors - Keesha and Tula, and kitties - Squeek and Mikey, are always excited to meet new guests. The Brown Jug is centrally situated in sought-after Eastcliff - a quiet leafy suburb, and is a mere two minute stroll away from the shops, restaurants and seafront where you can enjoy the town’s famous land-based whale watching from the cliff tops. With a pristine garden, comfortable private units, and a sparkling salt water swimming pool, The Brown Jug allows you and your family or group to relax on your private patio or on one of the pool loungers while enjoying the tranquillity of your beautiful surroundings. The Brown Jug’s guest units each sleep between two to four adults and sleeper couches can accommodate a child or two in Units One or Two, with Unit Three being a Studio Room. All the units are individually equipped and each one has a full bathroom, with shower and bath, lounge, dining area, kitchen and comfy plush furniture. Each unit also has a flat screen TV, DSTV and DVD player with free Wi-Fi access – but I doubt you will want to browse on your phone given the variety of activities and places to see that Hermanus has on offer. A short stroll from The Brown Jug will take you to the seafront, the quaint shops and the antique shops that Hermanus is renowned for, and to its fine restaurants for a long lazy lunch overlooking the sea, with the distinct possibility of a whale show. Then there’s the cliff paths, the Marine Tidal pool for a fully energized swim and the Fernkloof Nature Trail with the first of the available walks – The Elephant Walk – a mere 600 meters away. There’s also the Saturday Craft Market where friends (and their pets) meet, and the blue flag beaches that are just five minutes away by car. Mountain bike trails are in abundance and truly magnificent scenery awaits with routes up the valley with clearly marked routes catering to various degrees of expertise. Hike into Fernkloof Nature Reserve or explore the Hemel en Aarde Valley just 6 kilometres away and taste the wines of the region. If you are looking to experience Hermanus from a place catered for families or groups, then The Brown Jug Guest House should be high on your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brown Jug Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing