We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Criminal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermanus Beach Villa
Ranked #12 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2009

That a fabulous place like this should ever be anything other than fully booked is absolutely criminal. We spent 3 nights with Charl and Rhianne and there is nothing that we could fault. The location at the end of the coastal path, overlooking a lovely small beach, was perfect for long walks with ample whale watching opportunities. You didn't even need to leave your rooms to feast upon these magnificient creatures and which continued over a wonderful breakast. If you're lucky enough to stay here I advise that you seek your hosts counsel upon what to see and do as their recommendations were faultless. Local restaurants and vineyards are well worth a visit. Whatever you do don't just stay here for a single night as you'll be depriving youselves of an opportunity for a memorable holiday - I could have stayed for weeks!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshTravellers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 505 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed here from the 16-18 Sep for 2 nts. Upon arrival we were showed to our suite room. First impression "FANTASTIC', the view is to die for. The sound of the waves crashing on the rocks was music to the ears.Picture Perfect.We could just see the waves by lying in bed.
Though it is about 5km from the city centre we did not miss much, we just soak in the atmosphere.
Breakfast was good. The grotto beach is just a stone's throw away. The bed has a electric blanket, which really keeps you warm.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bless55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in Hermanus Beach Villa and found the hotel to be first class. It is situated a few miles from the town centre, in a residential area, and has stunning views over the bay. The floor to ceiling windows meant that we could watch the whales swim by from our own bed! If you want to get closer you only have to walk out the front door and you are on the beach. The staff are very nice and friendly and Charl and Rianna, the owners, were first class. With there only being 4 rooms/suites the service is personable, none more so than at breakfast which is lovely with freshly cooked breakfast every morning. The hotel suite was huge with seating areas, plenty of storage, 2 bedrooms (sleeps 4) and a kitchenette, all very comfortable. Would definitely stay again, if in the area, and was probably the best value for money hotel ever stayed in. Excellent

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaretsmadPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend a night here and we are glad we did. The experience was fabulous. In our lives, we have spent many nights in B&Bs around the world, but never have we experienced one so clean, cozy and the service so impeccable - even down to the small details. We are still amazed.
Charl and Riana are amazing hosts - SO thoughtful. No detail escapes them.
We will definitely be back to see some more whales and enjoy this beautiful gem.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IncredibleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it! Charl and Riana are excellent hosts. The view is superb and we saw close to 5 Southern Right Whales in the bay 150m from us the one afternoon! My dad also stayed here in July and still talks about how enjoyable en relaxing it was. Riana and Charl went out of their way for him as he did not have own transport. Ask Charl and Riana for places to visit and to eat at, they are a mine of information.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettieSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Prime position for whale watching. Excellent hosts,effecient service, clean rooms and friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2009
Thank Ilsei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at Hermanus Beach Villa for a long weekend. The most beautiful view, you don't have to leave your room to see the whales. We had the added bonus of seeing dolphins, about 30. What a feast for the eyes and soul!

Every evening, we got a hot water bottle and our electric blanket turned on for us.

The hosts are the most friendly, warm and sincere people. The suites are extremely clean, luxurious and welcoming.

The breakfast was delicious as well.

Go to www.hermanusbeachvilla.co.za.
However the pictures don't do it justice.

Pete and Pash Pillay
Cape Town SA.

Thank skye12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
946 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
708 reviews
2.9 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Beach Villa

Address: 151 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $133 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Beach Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Beach Villa is a luxury guest house situated in the picturesque suburb of Voëlklip, Hermanus along the Cape Whale Coast in South Africa. Guests can enjoy luxury Hermanus accommodation in a superb location close to the shoreline with some of the best whale watching opportunities available in season. The rooms and suites at Hermanus Beach Villa are elegantly decorated with private sea facing balconies promising sweeping ocean views. Added luxuries include en-suite facilities with bathroom amenities, heated towel rails, mini bar fridges, flat-screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities as well as hearty breakfasts and warm South African hospitality. Owners Charl & Riana invite you for a luxury beach holiday experience in the heart of the whale watching capital of South Africa. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hermanus Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing