We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermanus Beach Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermanus Beach Villa
Ranked #17 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and myself spent a week at Hermanus Beach Villa over Christmas 2013. What a delightful place this is. Spotless clean, lovely rooms and very friendly staff. Riana and Charl are exceptional people and cannot do enough to ensure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay.
The views from each room are fantastic, wake up each morning and watch the surf. Here you are very near to the beach and the cliff walks are a great start to the day. If you are thinking of visiting Hermanus I can really say you would be as pleased as we were with the choice we made.
Many thanks to you both for making our stay so enjoyable.
Maureen & Alan

Room Tip: To be very honest all rooms are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 42Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    120
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
72
341
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Friendly caring staff, a beautiful setting and a great experience! They accommodated us during a very busy time and on short notice and on our request helped us to put an extra bed in our room for my son.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hengelene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful view, friendly host and lovely breakfast. Our room had a lovely sea view, very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Just right next to the path to the beach. We can hear the waves on our balcony. We would definitely come again.




  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underberg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hermanus Beach Villa situated opposite the scenic sea views of Voelklip Beach, offers superior friendly service from the moment you arrive with active hands on attention to detail and your needs, to ensure you relax, unwind and enjoy your stay. I will definitely recommend this establishment to everyone wishing to visit Hermanus. They have the correct attitude and ethics.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CherylUnderberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We snuggled in our bed looking out our wall of windows as the whales leapt from the ocean's surface and plunged in an explosion of spray in their acrobatic show just for us! Is there an appropriate price for such a show? The hot breakfasts were custom prepared or cold in buffet form but all fresh and delicious with the owners providing information and helpful recommendations on this simply magic area of South Africa. With aqua surf encroaching nearly disserted white sand beaches for soaking up the sun to a majestically beautiful path walk that starts on the edge of the property and proceeds for miles gifting sights around every bend that simply took my breath away, this is a spot that I will mention in the same conversation as the beaches I have visited throughout the Caribbean, Brazil, Thailand or even Tahiti. It also provided a perfect location for quickly getting to the much less quaint Gansbaai to experience the amazing adventure of a cage dive with the great white sharks. It’s hard to put into words how wonderful the Hermanus Beach Villa was but to say it was truly magic and I would not simply recommend, but would strongly suggest that you start planning a trip immediately from wherever you live!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank no1rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great room (Grotto Deluxe Suite) with an amazing ocean-view. Amazing attention to every detail by staff. Simply perfect. Ideal location for a few days of relaxation. A bit pricey, but definately worth it!

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor have the best view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scholzi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren U, Manager at Hermanus Beach Villa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our wonderful deluxe rooms and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please keep an eye on our Facebook appearance and website for upcoming specials! We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Everyone tried exceptionally hard to do their very best. Just need to forewarn guests of a turn down service as we were not expected to be intruded on half dressed. No fault of the staff and there was no DO NOT Disturb sign, just not expected of a guest house. Breakfast was simply beautiful in preparation and delivery. Lovely to have a bar fridge in the room. We had a lovely view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren U, Manager at Hermanus Beach Villa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Lynda, thank you very much for your kind words. We are always glad to hear that the efforts of every team member is not left unnoticed. However, we take your remark about the unexpected turn down service seriously and will take immediate action to change this “surprise” experience into a more positive one. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
5.4 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Beach Villa

Property: Hermanus Beach Villa
Address: 151 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Beach Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Beach Villa is a luxury guest house situated in the picturesque suburb of Voëlklip, Hermanus along the Cape Whale Coast in South Africa. Guests can enjoy luxury Hermanus accommodation in a superb location close to the shoreline with some of the best whale watching opportunities available in season. The rooms and suites at Hermanus Beach Villa are elegantly decorated with private sea facing balconies promising sweeping ocean views. Added luxuries include en-suite facilities with bathroom amenities, heated towel rails, mini bar fridges, flat-screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities as well as hearty breakfasts and warm South African hospitality. Owners Charl & Riana invite you for a luxury beach holiday experience in the heart of the whale watching capital of South Africa. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hermanus Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing