We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We refused to leave our room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermanus Beach Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermanus Beach Villa
Ranked #17 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We refused to leave our room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this villa for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay so much that at some point, we refused to head outdoors.

Lodging/room – The lodging overlooks the Atlantic Ocean and we could watch the whales from the balcony of our room. We stayed in Dolphin room A which was on the top floor. The room was spacious, bright, and clean with white contemporary furnishings. The bed was 5-star standard and extremely comfortable. The shower was also commendable, producing an invigorating flow of water and steady temperature. Free but limited wifi access was available.

Food – One of the better breakfasts we have had amidst the high standards set by various lodgings/B&Bs along the Garden Route. There was a wide breakfast choice, continental, Full English, French toasts etc.

Service/Staff – Excellent staff who are helpful and prompt in making trip arrangements and restaurant bookings for us. We were also treated to some complimentary wine in the room upon arrival, and the staff brought us hot water bottles at night even though the plush quilt covers were sufficient to keep us warm.

Parking – Parking was alongside the beach villa, on the grass patches, not in private lots/garages but safe.

Note – The villa has a few levels only accessible by stairs so it will not be advisable to stay in rooms on the higher levels if you are unfit for stairs. Excessive luggage is also not ideal so we actually packed a separate lightweight luggage and left the rest in the car.

We would definitely recommend this beach villa to those visiting Hermanus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceTSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    120
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
72
341
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here for 2 nights in september. We arrived very hungry in the evening and the lovely owners organised a taxi to take us to town for dinner straight away. The next morning (and again the following morning ) had the best breakfast in Hermanus, possibly SA!! Make sure you have the cooked breakfast. Stunning views, great bed and shower, lovely terrace and overall very comfortable. Thank you to the owners for allowing us to braai under the stars on National Braai Day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here in September 2012 for 2 nights,(not long enough) and loved it. We were lucky enough to stay in the large sea view room with amazing views. The weather was not good and it was chilly on a night but, not to worry as when we climbed into bed, there was 2 hot water bottles, what a joy. On our first night we came back to a bottle of sparkling wine, rose petals,and candles in the room and bathroom which was wonderful, it certainly added to the romance of the trip. The owners were great and did everything to make it a memorable stay. The breakfasts were very good and we would certainly recommend staying here.It is however, a few Ks from Hermanus, but, there is an amazing walk along the sea edge, where we saw the whales from and it was good exercise after the hearty breakfast. When we left and during our stay at a safari the owner tracked me down to let me know I had left something at the guest house. I have just received my item back in the UK and want to say a huge thank you for going to the effort of getting it back to me. We would certainly return but, in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: The large corner room with amazing views of the sea. (Top Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy503975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We did a two week trip in South Africa from France in January 2012 and the Hermanus Beach Villa was our favorite place :
A very nice, clean and comfortable white bedroom with a nice sea view.
Owners were very welcoming.
Breakfast was delicious with also a nice sea view.
For sure, we recommend that place and would like to return soon !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastien_R87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in adjoining rooms with balconies and fabulous coastal views. Everything was very comfortable, although the shower-rooms were small and there was not much room for luggage in the bedrooms. However, we were given hot water bottles when the beds were turned down at night, which was splendid!

Service here was friendly but not quite top-notch (eg wrong tea brought at breakfast, having to wait a while for someone at reception), and some things felt distinctly odd, such as guests being asked to park cars on the grass verge outside. Wifi was available but quite expensive if you chose to buy extra once you'd used your initial included allowance.

Breakfast was a feast - cold buffet with the usual cereals, bread, fruit, etc, plus a freshly cooked plate of hot food of your choice. The B&B is about 10 minutes drive from the town, where there are numerous restaurants and cafés, although we found that some were closed for the season. We were offered information about what to do each day over breakfast, probably more than we would have liked.

The B&B helped us arrange horse-riding for our daughter, which she loved, but otherwise, we stuck to walking along the cliff tops and enjoying the splendid view from our balconies. Hermanus Beach Villa was lovely, although not without its (pretty minor) faults.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for two nights as part of a two-week holiday along the Garden Route.

The other reviews pretty much say it all - the place is perfect! The staff are attentive and caring, the rooms are excellent (we had two interconnecting which was ideal for us), breakfasts are to die for... we simply couldn't fault it in any way.

To top it all, we sat on the balcony watching whales in the surf with a drink in our hands and the sun settings over the cliffs.

The restaurant recommended to us (Rossi's) was also top notch and great for kids as well as adults and Hermanus centre is only a 5-10 minute drive from the B&B, so no problem finding something to eat either.

Finally, you also get some unexpected "extras" which make your stay even more special but it would spoil them to explain exactly what they are! Go and enjoy them for yourselves, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

this is the happiest we've ever been staying at any B&B in South Africa EVER.

the attention to detail is mistifying. the room is in excellent condition. one can see QUALITY is used, from the mattress to the products in the bathroom.

the view is beautiful. the bed is the best. the shower is to die for. i WANT that shower in my home.

a great touch was, when we returned at night after dinner in hermanus, someone did the down service, and added TWO HOT BOTTLE WATERS in our bed!! how considerate is THAT?! it was extremely cold the time we were there, and although there are heaters installed and turned on, someone was so considerate. that really touched me and i won't ever forget it.

the breakfast is also well done with a lot of options and well prepared.

we will return again and again and again.

Room Tip: they're all brilliant, enjoy it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janajakkals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
5.4 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Beach Villa

Property: Hermanus Beach Villa
Address: 151 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Beach Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Beach Villa is a luxury guest house situated in the picturesque suburb of Voëlklip, Hermanus along the Cape Whale Coast in South Africa. Guests can enjoy luxury Hermanus accommodation in a superb location close to the shoreline with some of the best whale watching opportunities available in season. The rooms and suites at Hermanus Beach Villa are elegantly decorated with private sea facing balconies promising sweeping ocean views. Added luxuries include en-suite facilities with bathroom amenities, heated towel rails, mini bar fridges, flat-screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities as well as hearty breakfasts and warm South African hospitality. Owners Charl & Riana invite you for a luxury beach holiday experience in the heart of the whale watching capital of South Africa. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hermanus Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing