We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was not enough ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Ranked #18 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One night was not enough ...”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge for just one night and really wished we could have stayed longer. Our room, which was lovely, overlooked the golf course (never did find out what green was almost on our doorstep) and we were able to sit on our own little patio watching the golfers. Nobby and Wendy were lovely hosts and we left feeling as if we had been staying with friends. Would definitely like to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for the really lovely review. Your room looked onto the 25th green of the Hermanus Golf Course, and we are very pleased to know that you were so comfortable in the room. We enjoyed hosting you and would love to have you visit us again on your next trip from Canada to see your family. Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    63
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
195
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On returning to Hermanus after many years, we chose to stay at Hermanus Lodge on the Green so that we could enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the setting without being too far from the town centre. We definitely made the right decision, our stay with Wendy and Nobby was all we hoped for and more. They are the most charming hosts, unobtrusive but so helpful when needed for advice on activities, where to shop and restaurants. Our room overlooked the golf course, the view is really beautiful and one can see the sea from the front rooms of the lodge. Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: For us overlooking the gold course was magnificently tranquil
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamlyn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I must say we really enjoyed being able to host you on your return to Hermanus and it was so good to chat with you about some of the history of this beautiful town that we live in, which was a literally a village when you left. We sincerely hope that you choose to visit us again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the Lodge for two nights and had a lovely experience with friendly hosts.
Highly recommended with rooms well equipped and location excellent.
Breakfast was of good quality and all needs were catered for

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekarrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was so nice to have you both to visit us again and we hope that the rest of your visit to the Cape was all you expected it to be. Kind regards from both of us, Nobby and Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and met all our needs. This may not be suitable for disabled guests, but we loved the place. It has a great view overlooking the golf course. The breakfast was lovely and freshly prepared.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floraday-1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, its always good to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Your comment about disabled guests is true, sadly, due to the structure of the building, its not suitable for guests who are in wheelchairs or who cannot climb stairs. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to South Africa and that you will return in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nobby and Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Want somewhere to stay where you can truly relax and not worry about a thing? Then Hermanus Lodge is for you. From the lovely rooms to the delicious breakfasts, your every need is catered for. Not to mention Nobby and Wendy, the wonderful hosts, who go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Thank you, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you Sarah for your lovely review - it was a pleasure to host you and your lovely family and we most certainly do look forward to your return. Kind regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This a most lovely B&B destination. Wendy and Nobby Clark are very welcoming hosts and the lodge rooms are both beautifully laid out and comfortable as well. A scrumptious breakfast is promised in their brochure and they certainly deliver that but the breakfast table setting is exquisite and it's almost a shame to dig into it. I lacked shame and dug in!!
Overlooking the 25th Green of the Hermanus Golf Club will be appetite whetting for all golfers but there are plenty of facilities for non golfers to enjoy in the relaxing lounge as well not forgetting the sea view as well.
If you are heading in the direction of Hermanus head for the Hermanus Lodge. You'll like it too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you Mark for taking the time to write such a nice review on our Lodge, feedback from our guests is invaluable for our business. We hope your journey back to the UK was uneventful and that when you return to South Africa we will have the opportunity to renew our acquaintance. Kind regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Once again I was able to spend time at Hermanus Lodge and once again I found it to be yet another great stay. One cannot fault the hospitality of the hosts, Nobby and Wendy and the service they and their staff provide. This was my third stay over and definitely not my last.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Once again it was a pleasure to host you whilst you were here on yet another business trip and we look forward to seeing you again when you come down with your family. Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermanus Beach Villa
Hermanus Beach Villa
#14 of 86 in Hermanus
485 reviews
1.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#13 of 86 in Hermanus
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Lodge on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Lodge on the Green

Property: Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Address: 8 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Pebble Beach Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Lodge on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose-built guest house situated on the 25th green of Hermanus Golf Course. Most rooms golf course facing, all en-suite. Kingsize or twin beds. Wonderfully secluded, north-facing pool area. Ideally located for easy access to town, cliff path, golf course and beaches. Tranquil surrounds, away from busy main road traffic. Excellent service, friendly staff, an ideal home from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hermanus Lodge on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing