We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good coffee stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Cafe

Savannah Cafe
Ranked #22 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh, healthy and sustainable is the emphasis at this sociable, casual rendezvous in Hermanus. Open for dinner, breakfast, lunch and coffee - the menu has been refreshed and modernised. The wine list offers a wide selection from the region. All cakes and pastries made in the pastry kitchen on the premises are also on sale in the Deli. Dining options: Breakfast, light meals, lunch and dinner.Ambience: Comfortable, contemporary and cool.OPEN MON - SAT: 8h00 - 21h00 SUN: 8h00 - 15h00
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good coffee stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice breakfast and excellent coffee. We sat outside which was great, but we seemed to have been 'forgotten' as service was a bit slow. Would like to go back to try their dinner menu sometime.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    77
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
255 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The best Linefish anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The Savannah Café is one of our favorites for Saturday lunch when we are in Hermanus. Yesterday's lunch was as good as ever: perhaps even better. The Cob (Kabeljou) was perfectly prepared: not overcooked and still juicy. It came on a bed of fried vetegables with a portion of chips. The glass of Chardonnay complemented it very well. Certainly the best fish for lunch in a Café anywhere and then I do not even mention value for money! See you there next Saturday!

Helpful?
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hermanus has many superb restaurants and the `Savannah Cafe` must be in the list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

thought our first evening at Savannah might have been a fluke but return visit confirmed first impressions. great little restaurant with welcoming staff--Nandi, Rosa et al.
chicken livers in cream sauce really cooked nicely (ie not overcooked) sea food pastas,green fig ice cream with hot custard, 2 glasses wine + tip `----£18 --unbelievable
many thanks to this happy little place
Dr Mrs Brian Silverstone London

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't bother if you are not South African”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I would love to have eaten here but after 15 minutes sitting there with menus in front of us we still could not get anyone to take our order. The waitresses were very attentive to the people on both sides of us (even having to walk past us to get to the next table 4 times) as we sat there in amazement. What topped it off when we got up and walked out was that one of the waitresses said "thank you very much". She had no idea that our order had not been taken.
Obviously we did not have the correct accent. Very disappointing

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“clean and tidy but ordinary with a capital O”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I visited this cafe following two good local recommendations.
Sadly the pre reports to me fell well short of spectacular.The coffee was only a speck better than powder from a jar and the "whale of a breakfast " was little better than a minnow and indifferently prepared to boot.
The location and service were both well up to scratch but a cardboard cut out will never serve to please.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank naylorpilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Cafe also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Savannah Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing