We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling@home”
Review of Savannah Cafe

Savannah Cafe
Ranked #28 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh, healthy and sustainable is the emphasis at this sociable, casual rendezvous in Hermanus. Open for dinner, breakfast, lunch and coffee - the menu has been refreshed and modernised. The wine list offers a wide selection from the region. All cakes and pastries made in the pastry kitchen on the premises are also on sale in the Deli. Dining options: Breakfast, light meals, lunch and dinner.Ambience: Comfortable, contemporary and cool.OPEN MON - SAT: 8h00 - 21h00 SUN: 8h00 - 15h00
johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feeling@home”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Savannah Cafe is centrally located, we could walk everywhere from there, as we were enjoying lunch and a glass of local wine- we surprisingly had a view of the ocean...what a lovely surprise.

Food overall very fresh, the wraps were completely full of fresh salad and the salmon wrap was delicious! French fries were lovely, defenately prepared with passion. We found the service excellent. As we were visiting for a couple of days the waiters started remembering what we like and received personal attention. My favourites: eggs bennedict,salmon wrap and the lamb ribs!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marikaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    79
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food & excellent service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Savannah has changed to one of the most popular restaurants in Hermanus. After numerious good reviews from our guests at our guesthouse, we had to investigate ourselves. We went for supper with our Austrian friends, whom was eating there daily during their 2 week visit. I must admit that Rudolph has turned this venue into one of the most popular ones with good food, good service & professionalism.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorpshuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A revelation”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Third choice (one & two were fully booked) but a very happy choice. In a classic Cape Dutch building right in the heart of Hermanus and with quality cooking and service at a good price, this place has to be on your shortlist.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeswickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best apple crumble ever”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I recently visited Savannah Cafe while on holiday in Hermanus and what a pleasant surprise! The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and there seems to be a permanent buzz with regulars popping in - I could see they were locals as many seemed to know each other, (no better testimonial for a restaurant than locals frequenting it!)The service was friendly and efficient and the apple crumble to die for. And then there is their divine cappucchino barista Timmy has perfected to an art. I shall definitely return for more of chef Rudolf and his team's tasty looking creations.

Emmie P

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slampamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New chef and owner adds Flavour and Taste!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Savanna Cafe serves the best Eggs Benedict in town! Chef and owner, Rudolph's personal recipe's will have you taste buds asking for more! Now open for dinner as well and really worth a visit. Food is very tastefully done and Rudolph's personal hand is always ready to please and serve. Congratulations, Rudolph and staff for bringing this restaurant to its full potential.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebestisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Cafe also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Savannah Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing