We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must experience”
Review of Savannah Cafe

Savannah Cafe
Ranked #28 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh, healthy and sustainable is the emphasis at this sociable, casual rendezvous in Hermanus. Open for dinner, breakfast, lunch and coffee - the menu has been refreshed and modernised. The wine list offers a wide selection from the region. All cakes and pastries made in the pastry kitchen on the premises are also on sale in the Deli. Dining options: Breakfast, light meals, lunch and dinner.Ambience: Comfortable, contemporary and cool.OPEN MON - SAT: 8h00 - 21h00 SUN: 8h00 - 15h00
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a dinner and lunch at this restaurant. The place has great ambience and fantastic service. The chef/owner meets the patrons at the door and interacts with the diners all the time. The staff is obviously happy and enjoy their work. But best of all is the food. I had fantastic Carpaccio and a delicious wrap for lunch. Watch this place. It has something special going!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReinetteV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    79
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great people”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I enjoyed dinner here with friends a week ago and the food, service and people were just great. Certainly the best I have experienced in Hermanus for a long time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johannes v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Diabetics and Vegans”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is the only restaurant in Hermanus that caters to the diabetics and I would like to thank them for taking us into consideration. We, diabetics, also like to eat nice food and have dessert but restaurants do not give diabetics the choice of a wholewheat or brown roll instead of a white roll if you would like a hamburger, or wholewheat pasta which does not taste any different to white pasta or sweet potato chips instead of normal poatato chips. This is a matter that should be addressed by all restaurants as diabetes is growing at an alarming rate. My brother took me there on sat 8th September for my birthday tea and we were all impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff and management. Thank you very much

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaDebod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome, a fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Great food. The waiting staff are fantastic, the new night openings are fantastic. Food incredible, well cooked, well priced. The only place to eat in Hermanus!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A1chrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday afternoon lunch”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lovely modern cuisine, light meals just super! Close to home, easy walking distance so refer to my guests at Bamboo Guest House!

Helpful?
Thank BambooGuestHouse303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Cafe also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Savannah Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing