We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique hosts”
Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #25 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2011

It was already our second stay at cliff cottage . The whales have already gone in december, but we did not want to go home without meeting Chuck and Dot again :-) We were travelling around for 3 weeks and our best bed and breakfast was at cliff-cottage! Chuck and Dot make you really feel like at home with their warm hospitality. Breakfast is delicious and the rooms a very cosy and comfortable. The cliff-walk is just across the street. Evereything is really perfect!

We are sure to come a third time!

Greetings from Munich

Gudrun 1 and George (Jörg)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subdiver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 305 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

Welcomed by chuck and dot we instantly felt at ease in the lovely thatch cottage. the room was very clean and the whole place has a very homely feel to it.
the breakfast was freshly cooked to our individual orders and the service was great.

Chuck and Dot gave us great advice and their knowledge on the local area, and South Africa, is extensive which really made our experience.

We will be most definitely be visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robby_hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We had a fantastic time staying at Cliff cottage. The room very clean and comfortable, easy acces into town and great Cliff walks to start your day off. Followed by an excellent breakfast that you would expect at a 5 Star hotel. The fruit salad was to die for, a full breakfast with eggs to order of your choice and great service. Chuck and Dot who run the B&B where very friendly and helpful, they pointed us to the local restuarants and even offerred to book for us. They pointed us to the local attractions and places of interest. They certainly made us feel very welcome and we really enjoyed our stay at Cliff cottage, hope to be back next year.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank gregwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We promised Chuck and Dot to write a review upon arrival in Holland. Serious personal circumstances avoided that. So now we are up to it again we must say we had a lovely time in the Cliff Cottage. It was the personal touch that made the difference. We have been in Hermanus before but this time it was at the right time at the right spot. It helps when you are in Whalecity and you get to see a lot of whales indeed. Almost everything is right with this B&B. The Bed and the lovely breakfast.
Chuck & Dot: whenever we come to Hermanus we will stay with you, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouweMinkema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Enjoyed our 3 day stay. Chuck and Dot made us very welcome and I would like to return one day, especially to see the Whales from the fantastic views across the road, from the Cliff Walks. The hospitality we experienced from Chuck and Dot helped us start our holiday in Hermanus, and we were treated to a lovely Breakfast each day in the garden, topped off with Chuck's delicious home made muffins.
The Old Harbour is a ten minute walk from the Cottage with a good selection of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed for one night at Cliff Cottage during a tour of the area.

Located just outside Hermanus town centre, this is a friendly guest house, managed by a lovely couple (although I understand they're not the owners). The main cluster of restaurants and bars are 10 - 15 minutes away on foot, but easily walkable if you wanted some fresh sea air!

Our room had direct access from the garden, so we didn't disturb anyone coming or going. It was spotlessly clean, spacious and decorated in light nautical tones, with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and TV with a select number of channels. A separate lounge area was a welcome addition to the bedroom - although it would have been good to have some curtains to divide the two areas at night time.

The modern shower room was also generously proportioned complete with large walk in shower. However, the height of the shower head and position of the tap handle below it wasn't well thought out - I'm 6ft 2 and had to crouch down to wash my hair!

Wireless internet was available at 40 Rand per hour and 150 Rand per 24 hours - on a par with some of the world's higher end hotels(!!)

Breakfast here was lovely - tea/coffee, juices cereals, cooked breakfast with eggs cooked to order etc. My highlight was the delicious fruit salad!

I don't believe Cliff Cottage has an official star rating, but it's certainly on a par with good 3 or 4 star B&B.

The friendly, homely feel created by the staff and excellent value for money make this an ideal choice if you're looking for a base for a short stay in Hermanus.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

My first visit to Hermanus and it won't be my last! My welcome to this lovely coastal town was made complete by the friendliness of Chuck & Dot, the couple who run Cliff Cottage.
The location is perfect, close to the stunning cliff walk. The rooms are clean, bright and airy and you feel very much at home straight away. The breakfast is not to be missed, with the fresh fruit salad a personal favourite!
I would highly recommend Cliff Cottage to anyone heading to Hermanus.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#21 of 86 in Hermanus
226 reviews
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#10 of 86 in Hermanus
341 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Brown Jug Guest House
Brown Jug Guest House
#24 of 86 in Hermanus
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#20 of 86 in Hermanus
150 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $65 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing