We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #28 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We spent 2 nights at Cliff Cottage but wished we had stayed longer. Our host's Chuck & Dot were very friendly and most helpful. The breakfast was more than enough and the rooms were very spacious and clean. We arrived as strangers and left as friends. We will certainly go back again whe we visit South Africa again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Cliff Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 295 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2009

Cliff Cottage was a great place for our family (including children, ages 8 & 10 years) to stay for a few days. It is well located, near the Cliff Path. Our hosts, Chuck and Dot were very friendly and helpful....and made a great breakfast. Chuck is even retired from my company, IBM....what a life change. And whaled watching or simply puttering around in Hermanus was very fun and relaxing...and very safe to talk to / from town and the cottage, even at night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

we really enjoyed our stay with chuck and dot at cliff cottage . on arrival we got a warm welcome and we were felling like at home. the room we got was really nice furnished and very clean. there is a big garden were you can relax. the cliff cottage is located in walking distance from down-town and near by the cliff-path.
fresh an rich breakfast will be served from chuck and dot.
those two a really very nice persons with a lot of humor. always open for a chat and very good tips for a nice stay in hermanus.

we defenitly come back :-)

Gudrun and George

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subdiver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

The B&B is a ten-minutes walk from the centre of Hermanus. Our garden room was located in a separate small cottage - the bathroom was on the smaller side but the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. There is safe car parking on the premises. The hosts are extremely friendly and welcoming, who - among many other things - cook ovely big breakfasts. In all, this is a good, friendly, no-frills place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimbrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and 2 year old daughter.

We had cottage number 2. It had a large double bed, and a single room off the double with a single bed and we were provided with a travel cot.
There was a kitchenette and a bath with shower.

Chuck & Dot who run the guest house were so hospitable and friendly and full of information and knowledge about Hermanus.
The full breakfast, with cereal, toast, fresh fruit salad, juice, tea, coffee, muffins etc... was excellent. A good meal to set you up for the day.

It is such a child friendly place. High chair, travel cot, big garden. All safe for children to explore.

Chuck organised the whale boat trip for us which was fantastic. You can also do shark diving and other trips.

It is a 2 minute walk to the cliffs where we were lucky enough to view the whales.

Easy to walk and drive into town.

Lots of lovely places to eat that Chuck and Dot recommended.

Would definely recommend this B&B and hope to get there again one day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

The garden room we stayed in was very private and comfortable. Off street secure parking was a bonus. Easy access to the cliff path which takes you into Hermanus. We got our first sightings of whales, very close to the rocks, while walking along the cliff path.
Chuck, breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We enjoyed our short stay in Hermanus, but would not recommend to take the garden cottage at Cliff Cottage for your overnight stay. Even though it is nicely decorated, it still feels like staying in a garage. Go for another room in the Cliff Cottage if you can! The location is great and beautiful!
Breakfast was great! We also liked that Chuck booked a whale watching tour for us in advance!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilderness09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#21 of 85 in Hermanus
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#25 of 85 in Hermanus
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#8 of 85 in Hermanus
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 85 in Hermanus
384 reviews
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#11 of 85 in Hermanus
325 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#16 of 85 in Hermanus
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $82 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing