We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliff Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$81
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
$227
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$100
$64
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$506
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
242
58
17
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
58
17
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgreat hostsgarden roomthatched roofshort walkmade us feel at homeenjoyed our staythe main houseperfect staynice gardenwarm welcomedelicious breakfastoff street parkingsouth africaa great place to stayhermanus townold harbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 317 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is my second stay this year at Cliff Cottage and it was lovely to be back. The rooms are very comfortable and cosy and the house is a very short walk to town along the coast path.
Chuck and Dot are very welcoming and knowledgable about the area and activities.
It really does feel like a home from home and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Both the rooms i stayed in were lovely. Definitely ask for scrambled eggs for breakfast!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We we're staying one night in Hermanus and we thought immediately that this was the perfect place to sleep. We booked one night before leaving and got the garden cottage. Chuck and Dot are very hospitable and make you feel at home right away. The garden cottage was clean and had a great spot right in the green garden. Good location to go for the cliff trail and grab diner in town or in the new harbor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yentl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The lodge provided a good service. Nvertheless, some facts gave a slight negative taste. Although we paid the deposit (what is basically ok) by credit card it was not possible to pay the remaining 50% the same way. Only cash was accepted. In a country where you try to avoid carrying cash arround you this is not acceptable - even if you stay a couple of days. Internet was charged extra but was extremely slow and clunky and barely not usable. Owners were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and good equiped (except of the kitchen). Breakfast was included and excellent (is served in the garden in case the weather is fine).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Bilimungwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hosts were very nice and friendly and helpful with activities in Hermanus, friendly staff, service excellent, absolute best value for money, good location - close to Hermanus town, very comfortable and nice room. We had the best scrambled egg breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia19702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is our second visit to Cliff Cottage in Hermanus and again we were not disappointed. Chuck & Dot made us feel at home from the moment we rang the door bell. Cliff Cottage is a really nice place to spend a few days as it is so close to the cliffs where one can have a great view of the whales and also to the town of Hermanus. The rooms were all large and clean all had there own bathrooms (we took 3 rooms as we were 6 people),one of the rooms even had it`s own lounge. There is also secure parking places in the grounds so no need to lug heavy cases very far.The breakfast were also very good and enough to eat for even the largest of appetite. Chuck & Dot had pre arranged for a whale trip prior to our arrival which saved some precious time, they also recommended some great places to eat.If you are looking for good value for money this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews