We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliff Cottage Hermanus”
Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #29 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
1 review
“Cliff Cottage Hermanus”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Recently returned from a trip to Hermanus where we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Cliff Cottage. The rooms and ensuites are top notch and beautifully clean. The location is excellent close to the cliff path with a short walk into the town. Chuck & Dot are the perfect hosts who make you feel very welcome and are very helpful with their knowledge of the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    55
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
155
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a night a few weeks back on our visit to Hermanus. The rooms are very spacious and well maintained. Our hosts Chuck and Dot were very hospitable and friendly and we spent some time chatting with them and their various trips to Malaysia.

Breakfast was served in a pretty dining area and the food was good. If we ever make a trip back there, we will certainly be staying at the Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhasini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable night in the garden cottage at this delightful B & B. Both Dot and Chuck were very welcoming and helpful, providing lots of information about restaurants and what to do in the area. The cottage was very comfortable and pleasant and conveniently situated, just out of the main part of the town. We would definitely stay there again - maybe this time to see the whales.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from hermanus South Africa. Had a wonderful holiday. Stayed at Cliff cottage where the rooms were fabulous, very spacious and meticulously clean. Chuck and Dot our hosts were wonderful and had a great knowledge of the area, they also booked all of our trips for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. A great start to the day with Chuck cooking a brilliant breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. We will be recommending to all our family and friends and are looking forward to returning as soon as we can. Thank you . Keith and Niki Robertson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My fiance' and I stayed at Cliff Cottage for 2 nights In March where we both had the most amazing time. Dot and Chuck are second to none and their hospitality was brilliant. Not to mention Chucks breakfast which was delicious each morning. Dot and Chuck were also very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some great pointers as where to eat and places to visit in the surrounding areas including Cape Town. Our room was beautiful and very homely with a modern bathroom and separate lounge area which was nice and relaxing. Cliff Cottage is located in an ideal location with the ocean and cliff walk just across the road. Hermanus itself is stunning with great places to eat, beaches and amazing scenic views. We will definitely be returning to stay at Cliff Cottage in the near future. All in all a fantastic experience and can't wait go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDonald1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you 2 and have you as guests at Cliff Cottage. Unfortunately it is a long journey from where you live but we would be delighted to see you back in Hermanus some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only spent one night at Cliff Cottage in Hermanus, but really enjoyed our stay. We didn't know that we had booked the Garden Cottage, but to us this was a nice surprise, as we loved the private feel and cosy atmosphere. Everything was very clean, the hosts friendly and helpful and we loved the breakfast outside in the garden. There is secure parking on site. Cliff Cottage is across the street from the cliff path and only 15 minutes walking distance from the Old Harbour. I would definitely stay at Cliff Cottage again!

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookatie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It would be lovely to see you again at Cliff Cottage sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Dot and Chuck, did not only host us in one of the best places to stay in Hermanus, but did our bookings for activities and suggested brilliant restaurants and gave us insight on their lovely town.

It's not just a B&B, this is service at its best.

They received us with open arms and heart, and it's one reason we will come back!

Thanks for a great honeymoon!

Abi and Emmanuel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAmaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely and kind review. It was a pleasure to host you at Cliff Cottage and we are delighted that we could contribute to making your honeymoon special. We have been told that your horse riding skills are now legendary in Hermanus.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#22 of 87 in Hermanus
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#24 of 87 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
655 reviews
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#33 of 87 in Hermanus
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Property: Cliff Cottage
Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing