We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly hosts”
Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #26 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights here. Dot and Chuck were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was entered from the garden and very spacious with a comfy bed and kitchen corner with a fridge and sink. The bathroom was modern and the shower very good. The bathroom sink was a little small and a bit fiddly being in a corner site. It is an easy walk into town to eat in the evening, with plenty of places to choose from. It is also a safe walk back at night, which can't be said for all S.A. locations. The cottage is close to the cliff path which is very interesting to walk along. There is no laundry facility but Dot and Chuck will take your laundry into town with their in the morning and you would get it back the next day. This is helpful if you are on a 9 week trip as we were!

Room Tip: There was a side room which seemed to have a large sitting area, but is nearer the road. Our own roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelensburghMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 306 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family recently attended a family wedding in Hermanus where we had a lovely stay at Cliff Cottage. Its ideal location, gives you easy access to the wonderful cliff pathway and is a 5 min walk into town. The host Chuck & Dot gave us a wonderful experience, the breakfast was lovely and none our requests where too much trouble. On the morning of the wedding they really went out of their way to accommodate us as we where all getting ready. Lovely stay, great value and I full recommend staying their.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

i came to stay in hermanus before a bike race to make sure i was well rested and used to the heat. My room was lovely and cool desite the outside temperatures and very quiet. the garden has full sun for most of the day and is ideal for relaxing in.
It is a very short walk to town with all the shops and restaurants but is out of the way enough to be very quiet. The scenic clif top path is only a minutes walk from the front door.
I am vegetarian and Chuck and Dot went out of their way to help me find places to eat. Chuck even helped set me up with someone to go cycling with as I do not know the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms i saw were lovely. There is even a seperate private room in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was our third journey to S.A. always 3 weeks and till that time we always had only good experiences everywhere and with all people. This was the first B&B where we had no safe. Also we noted that our room had two entrances, but we have had only for one door the key. In this B&B the breakfast was the most economized we ever had in S.A. Nowhere else we have been asked, if we want to have one or two eggs, one or two toast or a second cup of tea. In all other houses we could take as much as we wanted Wherever we have been on our trips, we saw beautiful gardens with green lawn and pretty flowers. Not so here. Because we just started our holidays there we knew very well what we have had in our suitcases. By arrival in the next B&B we missed money, a t-shirt, a slip, perfume, mascara, lip sticks, eyliner. We contacted Chuck and Dot directly but they did not know how this could happen. So there must be a ghost in Cliff Cottage. We booked this B&B via booking.com, but there we can not find this B&B anymore!?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerstin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent two nights at the Cliff cottage and it was simply delightful in this quaint thatched roof B&B. Chuck and Dot have owned this for 4 years and they are putting their heart and soul into it.

Large rooms and very modern bathroom. Breakfast was great and you can eat on the back veranda, weather permitting. They have gated parking in the rear which is very handy. This cottage is at the edge of town so you can either walk or drive to town

Room Tip: We were in room #3 which had no electrical out let in the bathroom. This caused an inconvenience wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed four nights in the family room at Cliff Cottage and had the most wonderful time. The hosts made us feel more than welcome, provided many tips about activities and restaurants in the area, and happily helped us with different kinds of bookings. The pretty, nicely decorated house is situated close to the beautiful cliff path, which leads to the town center (about 10 min. walk). There is also a small garden where breakfast is served. We highly recommend this place!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank L-J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fantastic bed and breakfast. Such friendly owners. Fabulous and personal service. Nothing you ask is to much for them! Perfect location and Hermanus itself is a lovely town. Nice restaurants, a lot of things tot do in the area. Cliff path just around the corner. We absolutely recommend this place! Chuck & Dot, we will meet again! Warm regards, Kim & Paul

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#23 of 86 in Hermanus
226 reviews
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#14 of 86 in Hermanus
341 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Brown Jug Guest House
Brown Jug Guest House
#24 of 86 in Hermanus
206 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
#30 of 86 in Hermanus
90 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $65 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing