We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in Hermanus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #31 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Hermanus”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We can only recommend this B&B:
The rooms are great, the food was fantastic and Chuck and Dot make everything with love. They booked us on a whale watching tour even though they were all fully booked (and that while we went out for dinner). It was simply fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at Cliff Cottage and also your time in Hermanus.

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    51
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
150
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coalville uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Cliff Cottage for two nights 16/17 september, we had a very enjoyable time, being a couple of minutes from the cliff footpath which goes to the old harbour one way or the town square the other, both make very pleasant walks.
Dot & Chuck were excellent hosts, the room we had (the garden room)was spacious and very clean, excellent shower, breakfast was very good and quite substantial.
Would we stay at Cliff Cottage again? Without a doubt so expect an email one day.

Room Tip: if possible opt for the garden room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianCoalvilleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent two days at Cliff Cottage with Chuck and Dot, and had a fantastic break !
It was like "home from home ", need I say any more !
Chuck and Dot make you feel at ease from the first minute you arrive.
Great room, great food, and a really great place to relax and resuscitate from the stress of life.
Hermanus is a warm and friendly place, and well worth a couple of days visiting the various
sights and watching the whales !

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I visit the area whenever in Cape Town and one of the reasons is the lovely welcome & hospitality of Cliff Cottage & Chuck & Dot. Cliff Cottage is a nice short walking distance to the town centre, so you get a chance to walk the cliff edge to see the whales & all the flora & fauna. The rooms are spacious & private & individual with great facilities. Breakfast is fresh & perfectly cooked so a great start to the day
There is a delightful secure garden where you can park & sit in the sunshine & Braai (if you don’t leave a mess). Each room has a fridge & facilities so you feel like it’s a home from home and the easiest relaxing stay you will have anywhere
Being in the hospitality industry my standards are very high and Dot & Chuck never fail to deliver. This year i bought a friend & her kids with me & they were equally welcomed and i could not have asked for Chuck & Dot to be more accommodating as we took the place virtually over. Nothing is ever too much trouble, the rooms are really lovely & recently my favourite one, the garden room, has been given a new look - loving it!!!
I can’t recommend it highly enough in terms of value, facilities & welcome

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived at the Cliff Cottage late in the afternoon. Dot welcomed us and went quickly through all the paperwork to make sure hat we have enough time for a nice walk on the cliffs to enjoy the sunset which was a very nice touch on arrival. Dot and Chuck were lovely and gave us good recommendations for restaurants, viewpoints, activities and even tuck tuck transporation from town in case we didn't want to drive.
The spacious room was well equipped and clean featuring a comfy bed. The decor is in line with the beautiful old cottage which is situated just a few steps from the access to the world renowned cliff path and withing 15 min walking distance to the center. Breakfast was delicious. Overall we had a wonderful time during our two nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0kkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved our stay at Cliff Cottage, Hermanus! Dot and Chuck made us feel really welcome and it felt like home!

The cottage is perfectly located for exploring the lovely town of Hermanus. The cliff paths are across the road and a beautiful short walk into town. Lots of restaurants and whale watching opportunities available.

As soon as we checked in Dot kindly booked us onto the whale watching tour and explained lots of things that the area had to offer (including the TUK TUK which is a fab idea)

We stayed in the main house and the room was great, very comfy bed!

Breakfast was lovely and it was nice to chat to other guests. Dot and Chuck told us in the morning that there was a weekend craft and food market which we walked down to via the cliff paths and had a lovely time. Definitely worth going to if you are there on a Saturday

Upon checkout Chuck recommended Betty’s Bay as we wanted to see Penguins before we went home and it was a great suggestion so thank you for that and thank you for a wonderful stay at Cliff Cottage!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This lovely B&B situated only 10 minutes walk from the main square and where you can walk across the road to the beach cliff walk to the town was such a lovely experience. My daughter and grandson of 3 walked the pathway to the town.
On booking, I had a call from the owner, Butch who asked if I needed a cot and then gave us a lovely garden cottage / family room.
Parking and a safe garden added to the experience. More importantly, the breakfast was excellent and the ambience of the house really makes you feel relaxed and at home.
Highly recommended and will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Cliff Cottage. Despite the "average" weather it is good to know that you enjoyed Hermanus and that staying at Cliff Cottage contributed to your enjoyment.... Thank you for the kind review and hopefully you will get the opportunity to return and see us again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#24 of 87 in Hermanus
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#21 of 87 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#40 of 87 in Hermanus
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#11 of 87 in Hermanus
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Property: Cliff Cottage
Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing