We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliff Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$213
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$97
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$501
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$97
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
243
59
17
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
59
17
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsgarden roomthatched roofshort walkmade us feel at homeenjoyed our staythe main houseperfect staynice gardenwarm welcomedelicious breakfastoff street parkingsouth africaa great place to stayhermanus townold harbourstayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 319 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this place. Chuck and Dot were great hosts and very helpful when it came to recommending restaurants and places of interest around Hermanus. Location is great and breakfast was very good. Will definitely go back there, should we be so privileged to visit Hermanus again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulleRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you "newly weds" and lovely to hear that in a
small way we helped to make your stay in Hermanus a memorable one......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Cliff Cottage which is ideally situated for cliff top walks to the harbour and into town. The room was fresh and clean and the bed very comfortable. The 15 minute walk from Hermanus centre was particularly welcome after our evening meal in restaurants which were recommended to us by our friendly hosts Dot and Chuck. Even out of season we still saw some whales!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TibsWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you very much for posting this review on TripAdvisor. It's good to hear that you enjoyed Hermanus and that you could relax here at Cliff Cottage. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great location and Great B and B.......................and the hosts make it. Location is about 12 minute walk into town, but the Cliff walk to town is preferred choice. Hermanus is one of the most Beautiful locations on Earth. if you like a beer and some good restaurants Chuck and Dot can recommend. I think they have tried most of them.

A place to return to.

Brian and Denise, Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cliff Cottage on TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful town of Hermanus. We hope that someday you can make the long journey from Australia and stay with us at Cliff Cottage once again............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We only stayed for one night and that is the only bad thing I can say about Cliff Cottage :-)
We had a nice, spacious room. The hosts very very friendly and the walk to town along the cliff walk was very nice. Breakfast was one of the best we had during our whole three weeks.
We will be back!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TomFromStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you "Tom from Stuttgart" for taking the time to review Cliff Cottage on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your comments and as you say, the only problem was that you weren't here in Hermanus for a longer visit. Hopefully there will be a next time........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

From the first minute upon arrival Chuck and Dot gives you "the at home feeling" in the most natural manner. Rooms, breakfast, service, parking, garden, location all is spotless and a pleasure to experience. Just follow their ideas and let them guide/arrange you around for the best lunch, dinner, whaling trips and or day tours etc. It did not take long to to figure out why we connected that easy, Dot used to be a KLM Royal Dutch Airlines collegue for years. The feeling you have when flying in one of our blue birds is the feeling Dot and Chuck creates in the Cliff Cottage. Any KLM colleague visiting Hermanus should stay with them; not working/flying with KLM pitty for you, still stay with them and experience their hospitality. For sure after that you book a ticket with KL or even apply for a job ;-)
Dot & Chuck; THANK YOU!
Ivo and Amber

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you very much for the great TripAdvisor review. We remember you well and it was an absolute pleasure having you stay at Cliff Cottage.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and also your recommendation to fellow KLM'ers to visit this part of the world .

It would be good to see you again if you get the opportunity to visit the Western Cape in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews