We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”
Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #31 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Cliff Cottage which is ideally situated for cliff top walks to the harbour and into town. The room was fresh and clean and the bed very comfortable. The 15 minute walk from Hermanus centre was particularly welcome after our evening meal in restaurants which were recommended to us by our friendly hosts Dot and Chuck. Even out of season we still saw some whales!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TibsWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you very much for posting this review on TripAdvisor. It's good to hear that you enjoyed Hermanus and that you could relax here at Cliff Cottage. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    51
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
152
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great location and Great B and B.......................and the hosts make it. Location is about 12 minute walk into town, but the Cliff walk to town is preferred choice. Hermanus is one of the most Beautiful locations on Earth. if you like a beer and some good restaurants Chuck and Dot can recommend. I think they have tried most of them.

A place to return to.

Brian and Denise, Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cliff Cottage on TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful town of Hermanus. We hope that someday you can make the long journey from Australia and stay with us at Cliff Cottage once again............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We only stayed for one night and that is the only bad thing I can say about Cliff Cottage :-)
We had a nice, spacious room. The hosts very very friendly and the walk to town along the cliff walk was very nice. Breakfast was one of the best we had during our whole three weeks.
We will be back!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TomFromStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you "Tom from Stuttgart" for taking the time to review Cliff Cottage on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your comments and as you say, the only problem was that you weren't here in Hermanus for a longer visit. Hopefully there will be a next time........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

From the first minute upon arrival Chuck and Dot gives you "the at home feeling" in the most natural manner. Rooms, breakfast, service, parking, garden, location all is spotless and a pleasure to experience. Just follow their ideas and let them guide/arrange you around for the best lunch, dinner, whaling trips and or day tours etc. It did not take long to to figure out why we connected that easy, Dot used to be a KLM Royal Dutch Airlines collegue for years. The feeling you have when flying in one of our blue birds is the feeling Dot and Chuck creates in the Cliff Cottage. Any KLM colleague visiting Hermanus should stay with them; not working/flying with KLM pitty for you, still stay with them and experience their hospitality. For sure after that you book a ticket with KL or even apply for a job ;-)
Dot & Chuck; THANK YOU!
Ivo and Amber

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you very much for the great TripAdvisor review. We remember you well and it was an absolute pleasure having you stay at Cliff Cottage.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and also your recommendation to fellow KLM'ers to visit this part of the world .

It would be good to see you again if you get the opportunity to visit the Western Cape in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We selected Cliff Cottage at random for the first two nights of our stay in SA. How lucky was that? A convenient drive from CPT, spacious room, wonderful hosts, ideal location, good value. Local scenery, walks, restaurants and bars added to a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay at Cliff Cottage and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your comments. It is nice to know that the first two nights of your holiday in South Africa were enjoyable here in Hermanus and that we contributed to your memorable trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton middlesex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed here with my sister and good friend.The cottage is in a great location to explore Hermanus! Dot and Chuck were great hosts and shared their wealth of local knowledge with us so we tried some good bars, lovely restaurants and fantastic beaches!!!!! Our rooms were clean and spacious and nothing was too much trouble for all visitors. Would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your great review on TripAdvisor. Dot and really appreciate your kind comments and it's satisfying to know that we helped to make your stay in Hermanus a memorable one. Hopefully we will see you here again some day..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Have stayed several times at Cliff Cottage but this is our first review there. Chuck and Dot maintain a high standard and make all their guests feel welcome. Room rates are very reasonable especially by Hermanus standards and the location by the cliff path is a bonus for a walk into town. Chucks suggestion of a visit to the the local Saturday market was a great success so we spent some time there.We followed this with a trip to the Hemel Valley to sample the local wineries so all in all a very pleasant 2 night stopover with Chuck and Dot. We shall look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your comments. It's always good to see guests returning to Cliff Cottage and I think you must be our most frequent visitors. We look forward to meeting up with you again in Hermanus next year (if not sooner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#22 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#40 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#24 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#13 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Property: Cliff Cottage
Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing