We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place in Hermanus”
Review of Hortensia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hortensia Lodge
Ranked #62 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Dear Rolf,
Now we consider us a bit resettled at home again, mentally and physically. We send this small message only to let you know how happy we all were staying at your place . Also enjoying your wisdom and good recommendations. Without your advices we had missed a lot, like pincushions at Fernkloof. I myself will never forget the growling whales at De Kelders. Hope everything is fine with you and hope to see you in the near future (as they say when landing). As we see it now future may be November 2012.
Anders and Barbro. Our friends send their greetings

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
Thank AndersAlnarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2009

Had a very enjoyable stay at this guest house, well looked after by Rolf who was friendly and helpful.
Contrary to the last reviewer, our room was a little small (and certainly didn't have a seperate sitting area), although perfectly adequate. But what really makes this a great place to stay and relax is the beautifully maintained garden and pool area.
The guest house is a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of this small and pleasant seaside town, located in a smart residential area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed here in April 2008 for one night. We had stayed in many guesthouses during our South African tour and this one impressed us for a few reasons: the rooms were spacious. The double my wife and I stayed in had a couch and sitting area. There was also plenty of room to unpack and reorganize your luggage. The bathroom was very clean and tidy and western (with washcloths!) Also, there wasn't any of the frilly nonsense (big decorative pillows and other stuff to clutter up the room). The breakfast was great; try the muesli, it was some of the best we had (crunchy and very fresh).

Rolf has a great sense of humor and is a fantastic host. He's in his mid-70s and is from Germany and runs around the place like he's in his 40s. And the hydrangeas were amazing; literally, the size of a bowling ball.

The location of the guesthouse is within walking distance of the main part of town. It's at the eastern extent of the 'hot area' and about 2 blocks back from the coastline.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daveespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind zu empfehlen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank martinaheizmann64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
727 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
192 reviews
3.2 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
2.7 mi away
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hortensia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hortensia Lodge

Address: 66 Mitchell Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $76 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hortensia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated near the Hermanus Waterfront, Hortensia Lodge offers spacious and comfortable bedrooms. Set in a peaceful garden with sparkling pool and mountain views the guest lounge and dining room ensure privacy and comfort. Golf course, shops, restaurants and scenic cliff path along the ocean are all within 500 metres of the lodge. beaches, vineyards and mountain trails are 5 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hortensia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing