We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice plce to stay”
Review of Hortensia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hortensia Lodge
Ranked #60 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Rooms clean and spacious. You get a free guide with your stay, Rolf has very good tips for exploring the neighborhood. He tells you everything you need to know and please don't open your guides but just follow his advice,you won't regret! He loves Hermanus and so did we. Thank you so much Rolf;
Wendy and Marc

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Hortensia Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 36 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed just one night at Hortensia Lodge but found it very worth while. Rolf, the German owber is absolutely delightful and someone who really understands what real hospitality is all about. THe B & B has 4 rooms, they are lovely, not 5 star but for what you pay, very good value. Each room is clean, large, well apppointed with thoughtful touches and has their own very clean bathroom. There is a lovely pool and garden, as well as a loungeroom and dining room for breakfast. The breakfasts are included in the room rate and are better than excellent. In fact, Rolf makes the best Muesli I've ever had. Hot breakfasts are also included if desired. Rolf takes photos of all his guests, and send them onto you, and the informal, relaxed breakfast is wonderful for enjoying the company of other guests. Rolf says many guests return regularly, and you can see why. Truely delightful and really ggod value for money no more than a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hermanus

Room Tip: If you plan a last minute trip to Hermanus ask about this lodge at the tourist information office as...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Hortensia Lodge is brilliantly situated, it's only a short walk to town or to the beach.
After a day spent at the beach or seeing the many marvels of Hermanus I got back to the comfort of my cozy, bright room at the lodge.
The garden is spectacular with all the hortensias, spacious and beautifully kept and the large pool just adds to the pleasure of spending time there.
The staff is efficient and helpful. Rolf, the owner is very helpful and extremely knowledgeable about all Hermanus has to offer, be it art galleries or the many beautiful nature spots or vineyards in the area.

Room Tip: within walking distance of town centre and beach
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GundaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

In the portfollio book, they said "ideally situated" and it is just true...
we spend 2 nights in this very confortable guest house. Just near the city, but not too much. No need to go by car, just walk for the restaurants.
Rolf knows what "welcome" means. The rooms are very confortable and it is very nice to sleep with the window open.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tienoumat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Dear Rolf,
Now we consider us a bit resettled at home again, mentally and physically. We send this small message only to let you know how happy we all were staying at your place . Also enjoying your wisdom and good recommendations. Without your advices we had missed a lot, like pincushions at Fernkloof. I myself will never forget the growling whales at De Kelders. Hope everything is fine with you and hope to see you in the near future (as they say when landing). As we see it now future may be November 2012.
Anders and Barbro. Our friends send their greetings

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
Thank AndersAlnarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Had a very enjoyable stay at this guest house, well looked after by Rolf who was friendly and helpful.
Contrary to the last reviewer, our room was a little small (and certainly didn't have a seperate sitting area), although perfectly adequate. But what really makes this a great place to stay and relax is the beautifully maintained garden and pool area.
The guest house is a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of this small and pleasant seaside town, located in a smart residential area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed here in April 2008 for one night. We had stayed in many guesthouses during our South African tour and this one impressed us for a few reasons: the rooms were spacious. The double my wife and I stayed in had a couch and sitting area. There was also plenty of room to unpack and reorganize your luggage. The bathroom was very clean and tidy and western (with washcloths!) Also, there wasn't any of the frilly nonsense (big decorative pillows and other stuff to clutter up the room). The breakfast was great; try the muesli, it was some of the best we had (crunchy and very fresh).

Rolf has a great sense of humor and is a fantastic host. He's in his mid-70s and is from Germany and runs around the place like he's in his 40s. And the hydrangeas were amazing; literally, the size of a bowling ball.

The location of the guesthouse is within walking distance of the main part of town. It's at the eastern extent of the 'hot area' and about 2 blocks back from the coastline.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daveespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.7 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#34 of 85 in Hermanus
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jakasa Guesthouse
Jakasa Guesthouse
#57 of 85 in Hermanus
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Whale Coast Lodge
Whale Coast Lodge
#55 of 85 in Hermanus
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 85 in Hermanus
384 reviews
1.7 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#7 of 85 in Hermanus
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hortensia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hortensia Lodge

Address: 66 Mitchell Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $82 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hortensia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated near the Hermanus Waterfront, Hortensia Lodge offers spacious and comfortable bedrooms. Set in a peaceful garden with sparkling pool and mountain views the guest lounge and dining room ensure privacy and comfort. Golf course, shops, restaurants and scenic cliff path along the ocean are all within 500 metres of the lodge. beaches, vineyards and mountain trails are 5 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hortensia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing