We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennedy's Guesthouse Onrus close to Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kennedys Beach Villa
Ranked #5 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Kennedy's Guesthouse Onrus close to Hermanus”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Booked on the last minute and was fortunate enough to speak directly to the owner Mrs Ymile Kennedy. She was helpful and friendly and even accommodated my 9 & 10 year old as well as my 16 year old who decided to tag along. Ideally Kennedy's is a romantic get away for couples. The atmosphere and feel of the accommodation is warm and romantic. All the timeless antique pieces in the villa transports one to a different era where so much attention was given to detail.

The villa had a quaint kitchen that was sufficient to cook a meal or just make some coffee/ tea. All hot beverages were supplied complimentary with rusks as well. When we needed anything James,the butler, was just a call away and was always willing to please.

Thoroughly enjoyed our breakaway with beautiful sea views as well as so many extras that have to be discovered by yourself ( jacuzzi with uninterrupted sea views and the milk bath in the forest.)

Room Tip: Choose the Villa.... It's so private and walking down the pathway you'll think you are overs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennedysathermanus, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We love spoiling our guests and also enjoy seeing and hearing how they have enjoyed their stay! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    43
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
269
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I (WE) recommend Kennedy's above all other places -the best. Lovely people, excellent view, a lot of privacy. Do youselves a favour and make a booking today. You will not be sorry. Zacuzzi, body messages aall in your own private space. It was wonderul. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandaleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennedysathermanus, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We Eejoyed the whole family as they enjoyed their stay at Kennedys! Did not think we could do a whole family - but here at Kennedys we always never get too old to learn! Lots of love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was all excited about having found this five star B+B in Onrus right on the beach. It looked wonderful from the pictures on its website.
On arrival, we were herded into our beach villa, which is basically a large single bed room with two chairs and a small table, fridge and TV. The beach villa does include exclusive use of the terrace, which I suppose is handy in summer, but of little use in the cold.
The brochure in the room provides detail of all the wonderful furnishings and the like on the property, however you are not permitted to see any of it if staying in the beach villa.
A number of the cupboards in the room are marked private, as are all the rest of the accesses on the property.
Also there are wonderful accounts of the hospitable hosts in the guest book, but it appears that we were not important enough for them, and thus they did not bother to come and welcome us to the Kennedys.
This villa does have a nice view along the lagoon towards the sea, but for the amount of money charged for a weekend, it is way over priced!!
I missed that it was not a B+B, its rate are for room only!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FeyonaAndPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennedysathermanus, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
This review is one we hardly ever receive at Kennedys, as seen on Reviews on Tripadvisor! However, I have to apoligize that I myself was absent during this stay, due to a sudden operation I had on my mounth and just returned from hospital! James, whom all our guest love and adore and has training in Tourism attended to our guests. Again, I have to apoligize and want to assure you that we see all our guest as utmost special and important and sorry II myself, as the owner was not there to greet you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standerton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were at Kennedy's beach villa for our honeymoon!! It is absolute perfection. We stayed in the villa, it is private with a "milk bath" for that romantic evening!! The jacuzzi on the deck overlooking the beach and the lagoon is perfectly situated! Thanks to James everything was perfect all the time. Perfect for that romantic getaway!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennedysathermanus, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon Destination for a perfect honeymoon couple!!!! They even look alike!! The moment the two bubbly sparkling young couple left us, we missed them! Camping cot ready for next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The location is exceptional and you have privacy which you do not find often. The Jacuzzi location on the deck is great which is prepared with candles and you have a view of the lagoon and ocean whilst enjoying the Jacuzzi. The rooms are very comfortable and the service is great. The hosts are very helpful and friendly but never in the way. Great place and highly recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks so much - so grateful everything went so well and yet another lady said "Yes" here a Kennedys! Sure next visit the Honeymoon Package!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My fiancé took me for a surprise weekend at Kennedy's. He proposed on the Friday evening on the private deck with Jacuzzi overlooking beach and river. We had a wonderful weekend. Beautiful villa. Private and romantic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Garreth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks so much for the reviewe - so glad we could have net again and hope to see yet another time! Kindest regatds, Ymile and James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

It was our 7th year Anniversary and we wanted to have a romantic get-away...

We received a warm welcome from James that gave us a friendly tour... The setting is breath taking beautiful as you are nestled in the Milkwood forest with the view of the Onrus river and the sea... It is nice and private and the cherry on top and "memory maker" is the bath in the forest with candle light - not the norm :-)

This is one of those extraordinary getaways that is not to be missed!

Thank you Ymile for this beautiful place and your friendliness - God bless you as you bless your guests!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
How nice to have had the two of you here - we could have chatted for hours longer! Hope to see you again in future - precious people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
5.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedys Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedys Beach Villa

Property: Kennedys Beach Villa
Address: 5 Disa Street | Onrus River Beach, Hermanus 7201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kennedys Beach Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennedy's Beach Villa is an exclusive guest house offering 4 star luxury bed and breakfast ( self catering accommodation in Onrus, Hermanus or full English Breakfast at the Milkwood Restaurant - 3 min walk from Kennedys). This unique Guesthouse forms the perfect base from where guests can enjoy the scenic beauty of Hermanus and the Cape Whale Coast. "When it comes to the combination of utmost privacy, luxury, romance and organic lifestyle - there are very few places on earth as special as KENNEDY'S!" - Mariette du Toit-Helmbold (ex-CEO of Tourism - Cape Town). Guests can enjoy the very private and elegant Honeymoon/Lagoon Villa, tucked away in a Milkwood forest, designed exclusively for two guests at a time, the ideal hideout promising complete privacy. A unique Honeymooners paradise! Little kitchenette to prepare you own meals. Have a lovely view of the beach from outside balcony - and you have your own " little private beach" after passing your own Milkwood Forest! PLEASE NOTE: Due to the natural surroundings and uneven surfaces at Kennedys, "The Lagoon/Honeymoon Villa" is NOT recommended for elderly people with walking difficulties. The romantic Beach Suite with its sweeping ocean views offers luxury Hermanus accommodation, cosy evenings in the sunken Jacuzzi on the spacious deck overlooking Onrus River & Beach and fantastic whale watching in season. No cooking facilities in the Beach Suite, only fridge, microwave, crockery and braai facilities.No shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kennedys Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing