We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kennedys Beach Villa
Ranked #5 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
“Perfect honeymoon destination!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay at the Kennedy's Villa was amazing, it's certainly the perfect place to spend your honeymoon!! The peace and tranquility, and view from the deck is something that stays with you. We wish we could take James home with us - so kind and attentive, yet has the utmost respect for privacy. Mariana and Willem

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennedysathermanus, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dearest Willem and Marian, you were that special couple every guesthouse owner love!! thanks for your wonderful feedback - will also inform James! See with the anniversary next year!!! love, arwie, ymile and james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    42
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
263
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I spent two marvellous days at Kennedy's. Even the cold weather (end of winter) did not spoil our romantic getaway. Ymile and her husband are a fantastic couple who welcomes you in a very warm way. The property is absolutely beautiful and you get a bit of everything: lots of green, lagoon, ocean all in one place! And the romantic bathtub in the middle of the Milkwood trees is to die for! So relaxing and peaceful. When you are the Kennedy's you forget about time and worries.
We liked it so much that we wanted to stay an extra day but unfortunately the place was already booked for the following day. But we will definitely go back again. We highly recommend the Kennedy's!!! Sonia and Bruce

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Bruce and Sonia, we are already keeping Kennedys vacant for you two for the next visit! Thanks so much for wonderful review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay here for our honeymoon and felt very spoilt. Ymile and her husband are lovely and made us feel very welcome. The villa was beautifully decorated with antiques and even had a pool table. Kennedy’s also has a fairytale-like garden with lovely Milkwood trees that make a very romantic setting. It is situated within a short walk of the beach and there is also a wonderful restaurant close by overlooking the lagoon. It was an overall luxurious experience that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
This was one of my favourite couples! What beautiful young people! Came as a honeymoon couple and now a little bambino with them - hope we can all celebrate your stay hear again one day!! Love, Arwie and Ymile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Kennys is luxury, excelent location and hospitality all in one.
You cannot go to South Africa without spending time at this beautiful place.
All your needs re catered for in luxurious surrounds close to the river and sea.
Ymile and her husband are the perfect hosts and go out of their way to make your stay memorable.
This Villa gets a 200% rating from me !!

Room Tip: All are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choosytraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
What wonderful guests - and their daughter that also stayed here for their Honeymoon!!! Come as guests and leave as old friends to me and my husband aswell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Kennedy's is truly one of a kind.It's grounds,it's view,it's friendly and helpful staff,and it's final touches to detail,all calls for an amazing,peaceful,private and relaxing experience.The ambiance of this pet friendly self catering gem nestled between river,ocean,mountains and trees makes you forget about time and the rush,and instead forces you gently to be quite and appreciate life and love again.A definite 'must stay' for any traveler,nature lover,lovers,family,friends and the like!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
What unique guests - second time visit and soon to follow!!! Always so welcome here at KENNEDYS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in the Beach Room for 1 night only. From the moment we arrived, James was instrumental in ensuring that we had a great stay, running us through where everything was in the room and on the grounds. The grounds of this place were great, and I was a bit disappointed we couldn't take full advantage of them due to the rain. From the main grounds, several levels of steps lead you down through a lush 'milkwood' forest to a braai area, reading area, riverfront area, and lovely bush area, with seats placed in strategic locations. At river level, there is a flat lawn area with more seats for reading and taking in the noise and view of the nearby breakers. A short walk up the road takes you to the nearby coastal trail, which stretches for several kms in either direction. Best thing about this place was the fact we could take our two dogs with us!
For an additional fee you can have the luxury of a spa overlooking the river/beach, or a 'milkwood' bath in the forest below. Our room had a great view over the lawn out to the river and ocean. It was equipped with coffee and tea making facilities, and a fridge of drinks (honesty box). The bathroom had a nautical theme, with a large claw-bath, which was good for bathing, but not so good for a shower the next morning. It could probably do with being de-cluttered a little bit, but all up it's still a really nice place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyO07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
As I came out of hospital and did not really have quality time with my dear guess! So thankful James looked good after you! Thanks for feedback! Ymile and Arwie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a great stay at Kennedys during our last trip to Hermanus. I was looking for a romantic getaway for my wife’s birthday and this definitely delivered. The fact that it was pet friendly sealed the deal, as we like to travel around with our 2 small dogs. Highly recommended to all looking for a luxurious stay in beautiful natural surroundings, almost right on the beach. The grounds are fantastic, sitting alongside the Onrus river, right at the mouth to the beach. A set of stairs takes you down to a nice forested area and then out to a gorgeous grassy lawn next to the river. There are beachside/cliffside trails that start just a block away, taking one in towards Hermanus, or back the other way to Vermont and a nice nature reserve – great for walking or running.

We had the beach room which, as advertised, has views over the beach from the large picture window wall. Just outside the room is a beautiful wooden deck with a Jacuzzi in the corner, again with views over the river and beach. Unfortunately the weather was crap when we were there so we didn’t get the opportunity to use it. The room was large and nicely furnished, however maybe just a tad too much furniture and dust collectors everywhere. It felt just a little bit cluttered, but extremely nice, clean, and comfortable nonetheless. Facilities included fridge, microwave, heater/AC, DSTV, water jug, etc. Also free Wifi internet was available – a big drawcard for us. The bathroom was large with high quality fittings, a really nice bath tub, but no real shower to speak of (our only real complaint). There was a hand-held shower head in the tub, but no shower curtain, so really difficult to shower without spraying water all around the bathroom. Good hot water though and we did enjoy a nice hot bath on a cool rainy evening.

The hosts (The Kennedys) were friendly and inviting and we had a number of interesting discussions. We very much enjoyed our stay, especially the fact that they allow pets, and we will definitely stay here again on our next trip through Hermanus. We highly recommend this guesthouse to other travelers. Excellent spot!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymile K, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Always nice to see couples and their dear pets enjoying this oasis we have here! Also so special to see how our pet friendly guests have never caused any damages and such fantastic ipeople - next time the weather will definately be perfect for the four of you!!! Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
5.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.0 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedys Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedys Beach Villa

Property: Kennedys Beach Villa
Address: 5 Disa Street | Onrus River Beach, Hermanus 7201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kennedys Beach Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennedy's Beach Villa is an exclusive guest house offering 4 star luxury bed and breakfast ( self catering accommodation in Onrus, Hermanus or full English Breakfast at the Milkwood Restaurant - 3 min walk from Kennedys). This unique Guesthouse forms the perfect base from where guests can enjoy the scenic beauty of Hermanus and the Cape Whale Coast. "When it comes to the combination of utmost privacy, luxury, romance and organic lifestyle - there are very few places on earth as special as KENNEDY'S!" - Mariette du Toit-Helmbold (ex-CEO of Tourism - Cape Town). Guests can enjoy the very private and elegant Honeymoon/Lagoon Villa, tucked away in a Milkwood forest, designed exclusively for two guests at a time, the ideal hideout promising complete privacy. A unique Honeymooners paradise! Little kitchenette to prepare you own meals. Have a lovely view of the beach from outside balcony - and you have your own " little private beach" after passing your own Milkwood Forest! PLEASE NOTE: Due to the natural surroundings and uneven surfaces at Kennedys, "The Lagoon/Honeymoon Villa" is NOT recommended for elderly people with walking difficulties. The romantic Beach Suite with its sweeping ocean views offers luxury Hermanus accommodation, cosy evenings in the sunken Jacuzzi on the spacious deck overlooking Onrus River & Beach and fantastic whale watching in season. No cooking facilities in the Beach Suite, only fridge, microwave, crockery and braai facilities.No shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kennedys Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing