We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kennedys Beach Villa
Ranked #4 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly wonderful stay!”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights at the end of April, as part of our second honeymoon, and had a truly wonderful stay! We were brilliantly looked after, enjoyed some fantastic conversations with Mr & Mrs Kennedy, and had a perfect time in this absolutely unique honeymoon-hideaway.

Thank you very much!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daviddargue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    42
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
265
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This place was nothing like it is advertised on the website. The "Villa" was just one big room with a small double bed. The "Milkwood forest" is about 10 trees, the "Butler" is a glorified cleaner. The kitchenette had cobwebs in it, the bath was filthy. As we arrived, Ymile told us we had to pay for the whole trip in cash by Thursday, we were booked until Sunday.

What "5 star" establishment requires this, when we had paid a 50% deposit? When we said we would pay on check-out she reacting extremely negatively, and got very aggressive.

She had actually mentioned this in an email to us however this same e-mail, which was meant to confirm our dates, had completely incorrect dates booked. At that point we stopped reading in order to compose a paniced reply as this was the week before our wedding and the last thing you need is the honeymoon booked for the wrong dates!!!

When we complained about the state of things, my wife was insulted by being told "I pity your husband" and "if we're not happy, then we should just leave".. Just what you want to hear on your honeymoon..

Hardly the level of service one would expect from a purported 5 star establishment. This place is far from 5 star.. we have stayed in plenty of those and this is way down..

We left after 3 hours, our honeymoon in tatters.. our request for a return of some of our deposit was met with derisive laughter. Fortunately it was rescued by the professionals at the Arabella Spa, who were cheaper, but truly 5 star and a wonderful relief after this awful experience.

At no stage during our thankfully brief stay at Kennedy's, did the owners try to resolve any issues. The level of service was appalling. I would not recommend this place to anyone..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bullet0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennedysathermanus, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
All I can say is that it is the first time in my 12 yrs of personally running our own 5 Star Guest Houses in Hermanus/Onrus River and Upington, that I have experienced a situation/comment of a guest like this. I think all the other reviews speak for itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My husband and I spent ten days at Kennedy's, a much needed break from the busy pace of Jo'burg and a real treat! What we booked as a little getaway ended up being an unplanned second honeymoon, ten days that we'll always look back on with a great big smile. Kennedy's is simply a little piece of heaven. We loved every minute of our stay... from the breathtaking views, excellent service and the jacuzzi perched on 'the edge of the world' to the great big fluffy dressing gowns and homemade rusks that taste especially delicious when enjoyed on the deck in your pyjamas with a cup of freshly brewed coffee as the sun comes up. If you are looking for all of the comforts of home (and then some!) coupled with attention to detail and personal touches that make you feel like a VIP, then you will love Kennedy's. It's not just a guesthouse it's a spa for your soul!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWinderley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennedysathermanus, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
The two of you were such darlings - will not forget those jacuzzi sessions you had - sipping your glass of wine on ice in the steaming jacuzzi - rain or cold weather - you were there. Youngsters like the two of you make the industry so exciting. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband and I went to stay at Kennedys Beach Villa and was welcomed with such special and dear hosts. Mr & Mrs Kennedy and Mike - you made this South African holiday so special with your warm hearts and willingness to make everything perfect for us! We have been all around the world seeing such amazing and special places - however Kennedys Beach Villa is def one of THE MOST spectacular places we've ever stayed at. It has a uniqueness of its own, with forest, mountain, sea and lagoon to enjoy....you must go a loooong way to find better! We LOVED sitting in the jacuzzi at sunset....staring at the night sky, sea and majestic mountain whilst sipping divine South African wines....
Be sure that we will return in near future...

Many thanks
Adrian & Catherine Schneeberger
Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuberose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

What a disaster! My husband and I booked and paid the full desposit for the villa for Dec 2012 (in March 2010) based upon a quote we got from Mr Kennedy, the owner of the resort. I contacted Mr Kennedy to confirm the booking and he said we had to hurry to pay because he had folks from the UK who wanted to rent the villa at the same time- so we paid within 48 hours as ordered to. After which his wife, Ymile, sent me an email explaining that we were not suppose to get the discount Mr Kennedy had quoted and that the she did not want to rent out the villa because she had family coming to visit but considering we has paid 'she would just have to deal with it.'- what venue wants to kick good paying customers out in the middle of December? Just sounds absurd! The tone of the email said it all- we do not want you here (I wonder if someone else was lined up who had not recived the discount in error). I responded by saying giving the clear wording and tone of the email we would go elsewhere, where we were more wanted. I attempted to call her (and she me) but kept getting voicemail. Kennedy does look like a most stunning place but sadly I will be taking my money, wealth and desire for luxary travel elsewhere. I have stayed at the best hotels and guesthouses in the world and never has anything like this happend to me. What a pity it would of been so nice to go.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TPeyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennedysathermanus, Owner at Kennedys Beach Villa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
What a pity our inquiry did not respond back to my immediate e-mails and three phone calls BEFORE I had to pay back her deposit before 5hoo that afternoon, as instructed by herself. To me it was of utmost importance to actually communicate to her personally, as I think the whole situation was a whole miss interpretation and I know, had we have the opportunity to actually speak to one another directly, this whole misunderstanding could have been solved. To me being 12 years in this industry everything resolves around good relationships. I would however love to have you back here some time in future and we can work out a "special price " for the two of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2011

If I can describe Kennedy's in 3 words it would be, AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!!! Highly recommended, cant wait for our next visit to this lush, romanic getaway!! Thank you to the Hosts Arwie and Ymile we will definately be back.
Greetings out of Grenada,
Jay and Kim Crichton

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKCrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Such a gorgeous place to stay, so romantic and so peaceful, I highly recommend the full body massage. It was such a special trip for my husband and I, so relaxing!!! We will go back for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
1.0 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedys Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedys Beach Villa

Property: Kennedys Beach Villa
Address: 5 Disa Street | Onrus River Beach, Hermanus 7201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kennedys Beach Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennedy's Beach Villa is an exclusive guest house offering 4 star luxury bed and breakfast ( self catering accommodation in Onrus, Hermanus or full English Breakfast at the Milkwood Restaurant - 3 min walk from Kennedys). This unique Guesthouse forms the perfect base from where guests can enjoy the scenic beauty of Hermanus and the Cape Whale Coast. "When it comes to the combination of utmost privacy, luxury, romance and organic lifestyle - there are very few places on earth as special as KENNEDY'S!" - Mariette du Toit-Helmbold (ex-CEO of Tourism - Cape Town). Guests can enjoy the very private and elegant Honeymoon/Lagoon Villa, tucked away in a Milkwood forest, designed exclusively for two guests at a time, the ideal hideout promising complete privacy. A unique Honeymooners paradise! Little kitchenette to prepare you own meals. Have a lovely view of the beach from outside balcony - and you have your own " little private beach" after passing your own Milkwood Forest! PLEASE NOTE: Due to the natural surroundings and uneven surfaces at Kennedys, "The Lagoon/Honeymoon Villa" is NOT recommended for elderly people with walking difficulties. The romantic Beach Suite with its sweeping ocean views offers luxury Hermanus accommodation, cosy evenings in the sunken Jacuzzi on the spacious deck overlooking Onrus River & Beach and fantastic whale watching in season. No cooking facilities in the Beach Suite, only fridge, microwave, crockery and braai facilities.No shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kennedys Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing