We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay and watch the whales from your room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay and watch the whales from your room”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in this Guesthouse for two nights early November 2012 and were sad having to leave.. Such a fantastic place located right at the ocean front with whales showing off while you have breakfast in the morning. The best possible way for my wife to celebrate her birthday!
Most friendly welcome by our host, Beth, who did her utmost to make reservations for us and provide us with all necessary information about Hermanus and the Hemel en Aarde winery route.

The rooms are spacious, modern and very well equipped. Free wifi available, which is a bonus!
This guesthouse offers you light on 24/24 basis. The front is actually nothing but window and offers the best possible views of the ocean with great sunsets. At night the lights stay on and show this guesthouse as a beacon.
We enjoyed great breakfasts with a nice buffet and à la carte plates which were very well presented. A joy for the eyes and the pallet.
At night you can have a drink in the cosy common place upstairs.
The whole building, outside and inside, gives a most modern and tidy impression.
Wonderful to be there and recommendable to all who want to do whale watching in Hermanus. Moreover it is only 3 minutes away from the heart of Hermanus. Perfect !!

Room Tip: Obviously, the rooms with front ocean view are the best. They have an adjacent outside terrace. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umberto-Huby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    72
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
145
672
27
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would throughly reccommend 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse as a place ot stay whilst visiting Hermanus and the surrounding area. Although not in the centre of Hermanus, the location (in Sandbaai) is perfect - practically on the beach, quiet and relaxing! Beth, our host, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. She even booked us a table at the local restaurant for Saturday eveing. Excellent service!

Room Tip: Some rooms are sea facing with a balcony but all guests have full use of the lounge and main balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAR-BRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Marine Beachfront Guesthouse in November 2012 and it was a pleasure from start to finish. A friendly welcome plus very high standard of rooms meant we felt we had made a great choice. Beth was very helpful in booking things; in fact she had booked a restuarant for us on the off chance we had not booked, which we had not, and it was very busy in town.
Wonderful views from the balcony. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MhairiFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Marine Beachfront Guesthouse for just one night but can't really fault it. You get the feeling that its success is all down to the manager, Beth, who has an amazing eye for detail. Every candle is lit, there's gentle background music, a lovely fragrance in the air, a glass of wine is served on arrival and she goes out of her way to make time for every guest. The breakfast, served by Beth and a very charming chef, is all cooked to order and extremely fresh.

The only downside is the location - it's a car journey in to town. It didn't bother us as it is literally just a five minute trip but it's not a walk in to Hermanus. The upside is some great views, particularly from the front or side facing balcony rooms.

I must also thank Beth for the recommendations for our onward trip to Plettenburg Bay - we worked through her list of places to eat and visit and they were all spot on.

Room Tip: Front facing or side room with the balcony are best for watching the sun set
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in the neighbouring property Shores Edge at 108 Marine Parade (managed by the owners of 138 Marine Beachfront). It was the absolute stand-out location during our trip: a fully furnished and equipped beach house for the 6 of us (3 couples) with the most delightful ocean views. We saw at least 5 whales pass by right in front of our property, closer to the coast then I've every seen them (home in Australia). The rooms all have en-suite bathrooms and the kitchen offers everything you could ever wish for; a quick trip to the fish market or the Spar which is only a 10 min drive away and you can cook yourself an exquisite braai on the indoors BBQ. Even a washing machine is provided. Very close to Hermanus centre too and very affordable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrandEl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutry, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Congratulations!
You really do have a wonderful House & rooms.
On top I felt very welcome at your place.
I can just confirm that the high scoring rating is well deserved.
Thanks again and once back in Capetown - see you again!
Jens

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This architect designed property was most impressive with a wonderful first floor lounge for guest use overlooking the ocean. The Oyster room was exceptional where you could even lay in bed and watch the whales. They were most helpful in recommending places to eat and even went to the trouble of making reservations on our behalf for not only restaurants but also whale watching trips and shark cage diving as well.
Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Oyster room has the best ocean views which is at the front of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabletopmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.0 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
907 reviews
2.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 86 in Hermanus
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Property: 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Address: 138 Kus Road | Sand Bay, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, is a National WINNER of SOUTH AFRICAN TOURISM AWARDS (2010; 2011; 2013). Enjoy magnificent views of the whales and stunning African sunsets over the ocean from the comfort of your bedroom or the lounges. The six luxurious designer suites are individually fitted with all modern comforts, meeting international standards. This is the perfect romantic getaway, close to two popular golf courses, and at the gateway of the Hermanus Wine Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing