We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful hosts and a beautiful guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delightful hosts and a beautiful guest house”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

As a finale to our recent trip to South Africa, my daughter and I drove to Hermanus to see the Southern Right Whales who come there from September - November. For three days, we stayed at 138 Marine and we had a wonderful time.
Jena and Louis could not have been more genial or welcoming. The house itself is immaculate and faces the ocean across a small, lightly-traveled road, so you really can't be any closer without getting your feet wet!
Our room (The Coral Room) was spacious and beautifully decorated and guests even have a sitting room with a small fridge and kitchenette on the second floor, where most of the rooms are. Breakfast was served each morning on an innovative dining table which could be reconfigured into individual tables for 2, 4, 6, etc.
138 Marine is actually in Sandbaai, about 2 miles from downtown Hermanus, but it's easy to get to town. Jena has helpful maps showing good whale-watching areas, good parking places and good routes back to Capetown. She also maintains a file of local restaurants with menus and recommendations.
We highly recommend 138 Marine. If you stay there, you won't want to leave!

Room Tip: The coral room has windows on 3 sides and you can fall asleep listening to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldogspikesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    69
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
138
654
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here after driving from Franshoek. It was in a great location along the seafront with a coastal pathway accessible by foot to the beach and beyond. The pathway was great withi inset brass plaques making interesting reading along the way. The room in the guesthouse was very comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. The attention to detail was impressive. Upstairs there was a lounge with a log fire available to the guests to have a drink and sit and relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views. The breakfast was great with a cold buffet plus hot meals to order. The place seemed to be run by a corps of capable efficient middle aged ladies who had a clear idea of what a good well run guesthouse should be about. It's is a guesthouse that would not disappoint and we wished we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were located on the ground floor but the views were still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tezza287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this wonderful B&B. Louis and Jenna are superb hosts and are welcoming from the minute you arrive. Our room was immaculate and the attention to detail superb, including adapter plugs, fresh flowers and cosy underfloor heating. The sea view from our room was spectacular and can also be enjoyed from the communal lounges.

Our hosts were able to recommend a nice local restaurant to eat at and took care of the booking.
All in all we had a wonderful stay and would recommend it guests wanting a relaxing retreat with a spectacular view.

Thank you for a lovely stay and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSwainson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed just one night at this B&B and loved every minute. Our room was immaculate, well presented, clean and had extras that had been thought through - plug adapters, magazines etc. the views from the Ocean facing rooms are beautiful. The central lounge area was lovely and relaxing and we were treated well by the staff. The only downside is that it is in Sandbaii, not Hermanus which is a 15 minute drive away and there are no shops / restaurants close. The ocean stretch in front of the guest house, although beautiful it is not a good spot for whale watching. We didn't realise this when we booked but the guest house experience more than made up for this and we'd chose it again next time we go.

Room Tip: Definitely the ocean facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashwa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just a short one night stay in this fantastic guest house, left us feeling like we have to go back again sometime very soon. From the personal service to the hospitality to the décor at the house, the entire experience was nothing short of excellence. Beth made us feel very at home throughout our stay - regardless of what time of day, she was always on hand to provide assistance (or even a story). The house and rooms are immaculate - spotless, clean, quality furnished with great views of the beach. The complimentary port and sherry was a very nice touch but best of all was the breakfast which was spectacular! The only thing you can mark this place down on is the location - you need to drive into Hermanus but we felt privileged to have stayed there as they definitely go that extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one. Hats off as we have stayed in 5 star accommodation before but this place is a true 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneLMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived late because of a car accident. The hosts couldn't have been more concerned and helpful in making sure that we were all okay and that we would have a reservation for dinner.
The house is exceptionally clean. Decorated stylishly and each room is a nice size. The sea views are breathtaking and you can sit in the upstairs seating room, enjoying some coffee and watch for whales.
I do feel for the price, some toiletries in the bathroom would be nice, and maybe some cookies placed out in the sitting room if guests would like something with their coffee. Breakfast was nicely served and there was a nice selection.
The host and hostess were great with helping us arrange whale watching tours, and I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone who doesn't mind staying out of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Manager-138, Owner at 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review. And thank you especially for the tip of having cookies in the upstairs lounge. When guests arrive, we do provide homemade cookies with their first cup of coffee or tea, but will now seriously consider having some more available thereafter also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I can wholeheartedly recommend this guest house - from the moment my friend and I arrived we were offered a level of customer care and quality of room that was not equalled during our stay in South Africa. Beth the manager could not have been more helpful and is a credit to the establishment. The first floor 'sitting room' affords amazing views out to sea and the house itself is a pleasure to spend time in. Location, attention to detail and customer care exceed expectation and as a result significantly enhance the holiday experience. One not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catnap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
662 reviews
2.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
886 reviews
5.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
399 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Property: 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Address: 138 Kus Road | Sand Bay, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, is a National WINNER of SOUTH AFRICAN TOURISM AWARDS (2010; 2011; 2013). Enjoy magnificent views of the whales and stunning African sunsets over the ocean from the comfort of your bedroom or the lounges. The six luxurious designer suites are individually fitted with all modern comforts, meeting international standards. This is the perfect romantic getaway, close to two popular golf courses, and at the gateway of the Hermanus Wine Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing