We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast to die for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excellent accommodation, great location, and the breakfast is unbelievably good! Hosts were very helpful indeed, and gave us lots of suggestions for things to do. Great early morning walks on the beach!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    69
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
137
648
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, Montserrado, Liberia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hi fellow Travellers. I would just like to report back on the most wonderful trip iv ever had. It was a first for me an my Fiance to be in the Cape area. We booked in to the oeyster room of 138 Marine Guesthouse for a week an what an amazing place i must add. the Hosts were fantastic an a joy to be around. they made our stay so easy an relaxed just what you want on a holiday. The accommadation was amazing with all the lil fancy luxurys in the rooms. From my fiance an I we would like to thank Louis, Jena an Bev for making our stay a memroable one, an to the fellow travellers out there if you looking for a luxurious calm holiday with amazing hosts, we defenatly recommend 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse.

Room Tip: you Want a fantastic panaramic sea view choose the oeyster room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This guest house has everything one could possibly ask for - location on the sea, comfortable and attractive bedrooms, a sitting room and breakfast room with spectacular views, complimentary sherry and port, owners and staff with more ideas for eating places and activities than anyone could cope with, breakfasts which change daily. The owners have really thought about every aspect of their property and the service they and their staff offer, and cannot be faulted. If you are flying into or out of Cape Town this is a wonderful place to start or end your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devonish31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived in torrential rain to a very warm welcome by Louis to this new modern design house metres away from the beach and view over the bay to die for. We really liked the guest lounge and were delighted with our room, especially the under floor heating as we were in winter season. We were delighted with the Harbour Restaurant in Hermanus which Louis kindly booked for us. We sat and had breakfast overlooking the beach and spectacular waves.
Jena gave us some great ideas for the next stage of our journey to see the penguins at Bettys Bay and many other sights on the wat to Cape Town. We wished we had stayed longer than one night and we hope to make a return visit sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ-ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The moment my husband and I arrived at 138 Marine Beachfront we were made to feel very welcome. We had a quick tour of the guesthouse before being shown to our room. The room was beautifully decorated and very warm. We loved the underfloor heating and the hot water bottles placed in our bed at night.
Beth lit the fire for us in the communal lounge each evening, whilst we relaxed and enjoyed the view. What an incredible view from the lounge and the breakfast area - we couldn't stop watching the sea and looking out for the whales!
Breakfast was delicious and generous and they had a different item on the menu each morning.
Beth gave us lots of advice on where to eat and what to see and would do anything to help make our holiday enjoyable and relaxing. Jena gave us lots of great tips for our trip down to Cape Agulhas. It was also just a 5 minute drive into Hermanus and a short drive to the wine region.
We couldn't have asked for more and would certainly recommend this as a place to stay. We wish we could go back and hope to some day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at 138 Marine Beachfront guesthouse for our 5 year aniversary. We received such a warm welcome and were made so comfortable from the moment we arrived. Beth and Jena are both so lovely and made every effort to make our stay special. The breakfast was also amazing and very generous (the French toast was out of this world!), which we enjoyed while taking in the amazing view of the ocean visible from the dining room/lounge. I would definitely go back! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wonderful place with an amazing view on the ocean and also really quiet. Delicious breakfast. You will also get good advices about what to do, where to eat ... Everything was perfect. I will definitely try to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Property: 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Address: 138 Kus Road | Sand Bay, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, is a National WINNER of SOUTH AFRICAN TOURISM AWARDS (2010; 2011; 2013). Enjoy magnificent views of the whales and stunning African sunsets over the ocean from the comfort of your bedroom or the lounges. The six luxurious designer suites are individually fitted with all modern comforts, meeting international standards. This is the perfect romantic getaway, close to two popular golf courses, and at the gateway of the Hermanus Wine Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing