We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30 Year Wedding Anniversary treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were a bit lazy on arriving in Hermanus we literally walked in the door to the hotel and booked a stunning room. The superior room was worth every penny with a view to the millpond sea.
Breakfast was very good with a good variety and a generous eat as much as you like policy.
The location next to main road in Hermanus has the potential to be very busy in the whaling season but in April it was quiet and unobtrusive.
We have made a promise to visit again but not to wait until our 40th anniversary !

Room Tip: This is a great hotel but be aware of the potential busy road at the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 999 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed 2 nights just before the Easter weekend. Hotel busy but we were upgraded to an ocean view room (room 11) which had a small but comfortable balcony with chairs. Good double glazing which allowed for a quiet nights sleep, despite some activity in the square outside.
Nice welcome and able to park directly outside.
Our second visit (see last years review). Room was spotlessly clean, excellent L'occitaine cosmetics in the bathroom and large, comfortable bed. Staff all very friendly.
Probably the best situated hotel in Hermanus with easy,safe walking to restaurants.
Only disappointment is that they no longer offer all sports channels on the TV's (did so last year) - not sure why the change?
Very enjoyable nevertheless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Harbour House hotel. The staff were most definitely the highlight of our stay (in particular Prince) who went out of their way to see that all our needs were met. The room was decorated beautifully - a simple, minimal elegance but without feeling cold. Underfloor heating gave the room a wonderful warm ambiance for a stormy winters night. The location is superb - all the major amenities are within walking distance. We had dinner at the hotel both nights and although their menu consisted of only light meals, we thought the value for money was really good (considering restaurants in Hermanus are generally fairly pricey). We can most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to return in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinetteBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were here only for a very short stay, a transit between Cape Town and Grootbos. However, I must say the staff here was amazing especially Ferdinand from behind the bar. He jumped around to assist us in any way possible. their breakfast was also amazing.

We got a studio apartment as we were traveling with our infant. The room was large and spacious with well appointed facilities and lovely views of the town square and bay.

I would strongly recommend this place for those who want to stop in Hermanus as its location is perfect. They are close to the good restaurants on the bay, a pick and pay is around the corner as well as a quaint bookshop known as Hemingways!

A point to note. They also have their own parking so you can leave your car there and walk around the town.

Room Tip: I believe the views from the other wing were better but since that side is cordoned of for children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is not a review of the hotel because we live just across the bay. It is to let everyone know that the hotel is now offering an excellent lunch menu. First class food and reasonable prices. The beefburger, with avo and crispy bacon, for example is priced at R75 and is delicious. It appears that this is not widely known, even among locals like us. Try it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Christine7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed for one night during our garden route road trip. Did not pre-book. They offered us one of the serviced apartments. The apartment would trump a 5 star hotel any day. We got a 2 bedroom luxury apartment, DSTV, pool, etc for R1400. Family of 4 with young kids. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, harbour. Service was personal, with good recommendations. Ask to stay in one of the apartments, great value for money, and you get so much more.

Room Tip: Get an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Harbour House is a very lovely hotel. The reception team is very friendly and they are more than happy to help with any request you have.
The rooms are clean and big enough. We stayed in the new wing. The room was very modern in white colours. All the staff is very friendly and helpful. If you arrive by your own car, there is no parking problem, there are enough parkings available just in front of the hotel.
The food at breakfast is on a very high level and all is fresh arranged. The waiters are very quick and pay a lot of attention that you all have what you need.
We can recommend this hotel to all and for us it was the perfect stay in Hermanus. Thanks to the whole team!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
754 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $119 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing