We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value for money!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was completely taken with the service of Your evening duty manager when I arrived exhausted and ready to drive back to CT due to an evenings accomodation being unsuitable and being unable to sleep at 1am. He was curtious and accommodating.

He offered me the "traveller Room" rate ( what a great product to develop for customers )

we will be back and I will always recommend the Hotel! Well done ! ......and thank you for taking the time to value clients.

Room Tip: I stayed in a back facing room and still had a sea viewe at an exceptional rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Ty s,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the staff were able to contribute towards this. We hope to welcome you back to Harbour House Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    304
    84
    42
    38
See reviews for
158
555
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hermanus is an absolutely stunning town - lots of gorgeous shops, art galleries, restaurants and markets. The hotel is in a great location. Karen on reception is extremely helpful and cheerful as are most of the reception staff.

The waitresses seem to lack the ability to give service with a smile (until our last day so were probably glad to see the back of us). We thought the buffet breakfast was a little limited and they could not get a "soft-boiled" egg right. We booked in for the BBQ which in the promotional literature appeared that the "braai" would be outstanding with mountains of food - in reality, it was expensive for what it was, and when salads or meats ran out, they didn't always replace it - in fact, we noticed that other people were taking photos of the salad table to show the lack of choice on there. It is therefore much more enjoyable to eat out at the many restaurants - be warned though as you're not always able to book as they prefer to "first come, first served".

Would love to return to Hermanus and am likely to return to the hotel on B & B basis only as the rooms are ok and very clean but it's the location that's brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chui-Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our room was massive and the bed was big and comfortable. We were lucky enough to have a room facing the sea with a nice balcony. Unfortunately the weather was cold and rainy so we didn't make use of it. The room also had a mini kitchenette in case you want to self cater. Lovely bathroom with posh toiletries. The breakfast was amazing, loads of choice, fresh fruit and croissants - even cheese board, slightly odd but I'm not complaining! This was definitely the most deluxe place we stayed during our trip, and I'm just sad we had only one night here, as Hermanus is lovely. The swimming pool would be lovely if you came in warm weather as it looks directly out on to the ocean. As with most of the places we stayed in South Africa, the service was excellent with polite and helpful staff. When we got back from dinner we found two little cakes in our room, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oasisgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Oasisgirl80,

Many Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent location (the best in Hermanus). Tasteful finishes, fully equipped (and all equipment in working order), very neat, tidy and clean. Most enjoyable stay. The staff was excellent in all aspects. Certainly recommended. I will most definately visit and stay in the Hotel as often as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Pieter G,

On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We are most pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

With its prominent position and seaside location, I had been really looking forward to our stay here.

Given the hotel's location, we were disappointed to have been booked into a 'premier' room in the new annexe (this was our travel company's fault). I had hoped for views over the sea, garden or pool area - not over the car park and on a level to breath in car fumes directly from their exhaust pipes. After some persuasion, we did get moved up a floor. It did have a balcony with chairs and a coastal view, but the room was still uninspiring: it lacked atmosphere or character and, with the kitchenette and bland decor showing signs of wear and tear, it felt more like a motorway service or airport motel (without the advantage of the Express price tag) rather than a seaside hotel. Wi-Fi was available in the Business Centre, but given the annexe's modern look and feel, surprisingly not in the rooms.

The weather meant I'm unable to comment on the infinity pool, which was covered in leaves and (I suspect) was too cold to use. But I wouldn't have felt comfortable sunbathing with so little privacy.

One advantage was the comfortable king-size beds. And of course the hotel position. The toiletries were also good - although the bathroom not large. A self-service buffet breakfast was followed by cooked options. The Pavilion conservatory dining area benefited from heaters, as the mornings were cold. Breakfast was fine and was included in the rate.

We were incorrectly advised at the tour desk that whale watching trips were still running (a better service was offered by the nearby tourist information point.)

So - all in all - a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Veggiemel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Harbour House Hotel. We are happy that we were able to assist you with an complimentary upgrade to rectify your travel agents error .
Your comments regarding our rooms will be taken into consideration, we have however not had any complaints of this nature before but we appreciate your constructive criticism. We are happy to inform you that we have upgraded our wifi and do have wifi throughout the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

What a place to stay if you want explore the beautiful scenery of Hermanus. You are absolutely spoilt for choice for restaurants!!!
The front desk is very helpful.
Smoking on the pool deck should be banned....we experienced a couple who smoked in one over three days and never cleaned up afterwards!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear A.Smith,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the staff were able to contribute towards this. We hope to welcome you back to Harbour House Hotel, should you return to Hermanus.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Harbour house for the third year in a row and the hotel again has not disappointed. Beautiful views of the old Harbour and across the bay, sleek modern rooms with coffee/tea facilities and well equipped. Staff are always friendly. The hotel is located in the centre of Hermanus which means within walking distance of more than a dozen quality restaurants. This also means that the rooms can be noisy in the evenings and early mornings. Tv channels are very limited which is one complaint but the pool has one of the best views I've ever had.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gyongyi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Gyongyi K,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House once again and we appreciate your constructive comments as it helps us improve.

We look forward welcoming you back in December 2014.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing