We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
1 review
“Location, Location!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Harbour House nestles on a corner overlooking a beautiful bay, the view is gorgeous. The hotel rooms were very clean & comfortable, the staff very welcoming & efficient. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Bay was most enjoyable on a sunny morning, we were lucky enough to view whales playing in the bay (Nov). A beautiful pool nestles on the corner where you can relax and take in the view and the acitivity around you. My favourite hotel of the trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    299
    82
    41
    38
See reviews for
156
547
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Fantastic location and view, non better in Hermanus. The only down side was that the internet did not always work. All the help, from house keeping to restaurant to front desk, could not have been more helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I would recommend a south or east facing ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed in Room 6 of this splendid hotel which really was 'The Room with a View'....!!

I booked this hotel for a special occasion for my wife and I and asked that they book us into a room with a nice view.

What we got was one of the Romantic rooms with free standing bath in the room and a small balcony overlooking the pool and the bay just a few metres beyond. From the bath the bed or the shower it was possible to look out the French doors and watch the southern right wales breaching and frolicking just on the shoreline and a little beyond.

Nothing else really mattered after this, but it would be remiss not to mention that the hotel is right in the heart of this small town, and has great amenities such as the infinity pool looking out onto the bay, great breakfasts, and ultra friendly staff with secure parking.

My best advice if you're going to Hermanus is look it up then book it up you will not be disappointed. Karin in reception was fantastic at doing the admin stuff booking restaurants etc and onward variations to our travel arrangements etc.

A really super break was had, and I would go straight back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: For couples it's got to be room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swift0262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfratshausen
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very nice hotel with very friendly and always helpful staff. Receptionist always called me by my name - this happens quite rarely nowadays in hotels. Romantic room was like it is named. Also provided us with breathtaking views of the Bay including lots of Southern rights. We definitely would stay there again when in Hermanus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely place. we visited when the southern right whales were in the bay and we could see them from the window. At the last minute we were upgraded to a suite on the top floor which was the most lovely apartment I had seen! My parents stayed in the room at the back of the corridor and the view from there wasn't as nice as mine! I thought it was lovely and the pool looked good but was to cold for me to go in! when we got in from our tea out in the town there would be a little handmade cupcake on our beds!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Erhard, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent one night at Harbour House Hotel. And were very happy with the choice. We had only a sort of sea view, but the spacy, modern room did meet our expectations. The staff was helpful and competent. We gladly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Daniel H,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohfelden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stefan K. - Germany: We stayed in a luxury room with a perfect overlook of the bay and the wales. The room was very large equipped with modern furniture and an unexpected kitchenette. The personnell was very friendly and supportively.
We can really recommend this hotel without any constraint.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Stefan K,

On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We are most pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing