We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great location and great service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Comfortable, well appointed hotel with modern rooms set right in the centre of town and within just a few steps of the front door we were able to watch the whales in the harbour. Willing staff who are prepared to go the extra mile to provide excellent service for their guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBill_32768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Traveller Bill,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We will be sure to share this with our team. We are most pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    309
    87
    42
    39
See reviews for
164
562
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at Harbour House for one night on recent trip from Cape Town through garden route. Lovely hotel we had fabulous room with balcony overlooking the sea & could watch the whales from our balcony which was a bonus as the whale watching trip we had booked was cancelled due to rough seas. Hotel right in the centre & close to all the restaurants, parked our car and never used it. Wished we could of stayed here longer but was per booked on set itinerary,sorry we couldnt sample the breakfast as we had to leave at 7am before breakfast started as we had to drive to the shark diving location for early boat trip.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a sea view room if spending more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Decorah61,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Harbour House and Hermanus in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Travelled from Cape town to P.E. loved every moment of the garden route.The harbour house is a nice place to stay.clean rooms good breakfast and some whale watching from the hotel garden all added to the experience.If stayin ask the chef to bang on a good ould BBQ.VERY ROMANTIC AND QUALITY FRESH FOOD.enjoy Hermanus and the Harbour house

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Tom B,

On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We are most pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel .

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

For our trip to South Africa (there were 5 of us) we only had one night's stay in Hermanus, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms we were given all had balconies with a sea view and were beautiful. Nice little touches included cupcakes - which we all loved!
The location is ideal for whale viewing with the main look-out point only across the road. Whales were spotted within about 15 minutes of us arriving! It is also close to the shops, restaurants and bars of the harbour area. There is also a small shopping mall with a Woolworths about 5 minutes walk away.
All the staff were very helpful, friendly and polite.
I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in visiting Hermanus. We all wanted to stay longer than the one night and have already discussed returning to South Africa, and all agreed we would want to stay at least 2 nights here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Emma B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House.
We looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the hotels apartments just around the corner from the hotel.( Le
Paradis, unit 1) We could not have asked for a better location! We could view the Whales form downstairs (street level) or from the bedrooms upstairs. We could walk to the restaurants and the shops. we basically parked our car and never used it again until we left! the unit was well equipped and it was nice to have space and the option to eat some meals in the unit. The fireplace was appreciated as it was cold during our stay! Moisture is a problem in the one bedroom with damp on the walls and the window is leaking. The smell in the room is unpleasant and should be sorted out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46andrear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear 46andrear,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the apartments.
Thank you for your constructive comments as its helps us improve the product we offer.
We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything from the room, to the staff, to the little extra touches (i.e cakes in the room) were exceptional. I would definitely stay here again when I return and will highly recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade so our room was facing the ocean which was fantastic. However I saw the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear KateD

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa , India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We travelled to Hermanus for the whale festival and was not dissappointed with our choice of hotel . Excellent location and rooms beautiful , staff very helpful and polite . would definatley stay again. The hotel is well situated for all of your needs .

Room Tip: Room 2 in the original building is very spacious including sitting area and fire . beautiful views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing