We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole experience was wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything from the room, to the staff, to the little extra touches (i.e cakes in the room) were exceptional. I would definitely stay here again when I return and will highly recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade so our room was facing the ocean which was fantastic. However I saw the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear KateD

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 946 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We travelled to Hermanus for the whale festival and was not dissappointed with our choice of hotel . Excellent location and rooms beautiful , staff very helpful and polite . would definatley stay again. The hotel is well situated for all of your needs .

Room Tip: Room 2 in the original building is very spacious including sitting area and fire . beautiful views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Awesome Hotel!
Stunning views!
Friendly staff!
Feels like home! but unfortunately Home doesn't look as beautiful as the room we had.

Whish we could have stayed longer.....:-(
But all in all, if its your first time to Hermanus, South-Africa then its a must! Perfect located and Sep/Oct is the best time of the year to see Whales!

Room Tip: Ask for the Romantic room. No 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmarenRiette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stopped at Hermanus for lunch after a recommendation the previous night by some fellow travellers. Within 10 minutes of arriving into this quaint, clean, beautiful town, we made the decision to stay in Hermanus for a couple of nigts. We wandered over to the Harbour House Hotel to make some inquiries, and even though it was a day prior to the Whale Festival, they accommodated us for 2 nights without having made a booking. We were immediately upgraded from the basic room to the romantic room which had stunning views across the harbour and was perfect for whale watching. My husband stepped out to the balcony the first morning to see several whales frollicking right in front of us! We're not really breakfast people but it was included and was just fine. We had dinner one evening in the restaurant as well which was lovely and the staff couldn't be more attentive. My only criticism would be the wifi - had to go to the business centre downstairs to connect - however when we checked in, they did acknowledge that this was an issue and they were looking into changed providers. The weather unfortunately was not pleasant, but would loved to have walked along the coastal path each morning. We will definitely return to Hermanus and the Harbour House Hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

What an outstanding venue and experience - the perfect setting and accommodation for the discerning traveller! Excellent service, most friendly staff and outstanding rooms! The experience overall was excellent including the salon treatments. We will definately be visiting again!

Room Tip: Best room at the Harbour Hotel must be 33, or 35 on the penthouse floor. Check out the magnificent s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reinette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

unfortunately we only spent one night in this hotel but it is great hotel in a great location. the room was very spacious and clean. really good breakfast and with a short walk after breakfast you can watch whales from the path along the coastal walk. would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmcd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a free night in this hotel after staying in another of their properties. Although there were three in our party the free room was only for two, if we wished to have triple occupancy we would pay a high price and it would exclude breakfast. So we paid for a second room. This mean spirited policy was not something our travel agent knew about before confirming the booking and is something that the owners should make clear. So we stayed only for one night. We had rooms with an excellent view and could whale watch from the balconies. Whales were mating in the bay so an excellent time to visit.

There is a small amount of parking outside the hotel and more parking at the back. If you park at the back there is a lift to take luggage to your room, from the front a steep set of stairs. Anyone with mobility issues should park at the back and walk around the hotel to reception.

The rooms were clean, the bed slightly hard, the toiletries good. It seems a little odd to have a kitchenette in a hotel room. The safe was large enough to take my netbook and ereader with room to spare. Slippers not provided, I would expect them in a 5 star property. A small container of fresh milk was brought to each room for our tea/coffee. Abstract paintings. Seating not terribly comfortable as its designed to be used as an extra bed.

Wifi only available for free in the basement, this is not good enough for a 5 star hotel. Was given a password in capitals when it needs to be entered as lower case. Still took several attempts to recognise my netbook but reasonable speed when I eventually got it to work. Tried the hotel computer in the business suite, it didn't work. Business suite not well sign-posted. Breakfast OK but not memorable. It wasn't suitable weather to use the pool but it was dirty. Nice cupcake by the bed when we returned to the room after dinner. Staff a little too noisy in the morning.

Five star location and views but the rest doesn't quite match.

Room Tip: rooms 21, 22 and 23 probably have the best views unless you can afford the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $99 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing