We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a free night in this hotel after staying in another of their properties. Although there were three in our party the free room was only for two, if we wished to have triple occupancy we would pay a high price and it would exclude breakfast. So we paid for a second room. This mean spirited policy was not something our travel agent knew about before confirming the booking and is something that the owners should make clear. So we stayed only for one night. We had rooms with an excellent view and could whale watch from the balconies. Whales were mating in the bay so an excellent time to visit.

There is a small amount of parking outside the hotel and more parking at the back. If you park at the back there is a lift to take luggage to your room, from the front a steep set of stairs. Anyone with mobility issues should park at the back and walk around the hotel to reception.

The rooms were clean, the bed slightly hard, the toiletries good. It seems a little odd to have a kitchenette in a hotel room. The safe was large enough to take my netbook and ereader with room to spare. Slippers not provided, I would expect them in a 5 star property. A small container of fresh milk was brought to each room for our tea/coffee. Abstract paintings. Seating not terribly comfortable as its designed to be used as an extra bed.

Wifi only available for free in the basement, this is not good enough for a 5 star hotel. Was given a password in capitals when it needs to be entered as lower case. Still took several attempts to recognise my netbook but reasonable speed when I eventually got it to work. Tried the hotel computer in the business suite, it didn't work. Business suite not well sign-posted. Breakfast OK but not memorable. It wasn't suitable weather to use the pool but it was dirty. Nice cupcake by the bed when we returned to the room after dinner. Staff a little too noisy in the morning.

Five star location and views but the rest doesn't quite match.

Room Tip: rooms 21, 22 and 23 probably have the best views unless you can afford the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 975 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We cannot praise the reception staff highly enough!

We arrived at the start of a four week visit to South Africa to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I had requested a room with a sea view. Not only did we get a sea view but they managed to rustle up a couple of whales for us as well.

We popped out for an evening meal and returned to find our room decorated with rose petals and a celebratory cake and bottle of rosé on the bed waiting for us!

The following day we were told that we had a flat tyre and the porter(?) - sorry I forget your name - took the car to a garage to get it reflated (we got it repaired the next day).

All in all a wonderful stay at what proved to be the best hotel in the four weeks.

One small (tiny in fact) moan was that we were provided with a toaster in the room, but no plates to eat from!.

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the new block - view was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Brummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were only here for one night but actually if I was doing it again I'd stay for two nights, primarily because Hermanus is a lovely town and the hotel was really good. The room was large with a kitchenette and we had a balcony over looking the bay. The only issue we did have was the lack of wifi in the room. You had to hang around the corridor to get a signal which meant that a one period during the evening there about 5 people outside our door talking, chatting and if it had been later on in the evening you would of been pretty annoyed. But I'd definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGuig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Drove in from Cape Town for 2 nights. Our room was in the New Block, and was very modern Bright & airy.The girls arranged for us to go whale watching, and also Shark Cage diving. Didnt eat in the hotel as we wanted to try the local resturants, but had a good full engish breakfast. As it was quite cool outside the breakfast room was a bit cramped, as there was a large partyof chinese, however that shoud'nt put anyone off in the summer months as there is a large outside terrace to take breakfast on. The staff were friendly, and the value for money great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night and we were very impressed with the room, especially the bath in the bedroom and the little treat at bedtime. Although there is room for improvement, the bed creaked with the slightest movement and was very uncomfortable. Free WiFi would have been a welcomed gesture too.
Back to the good points, the balcony looking out to sea was brilliant as we could watch the whales in the evening from our room. We would definitely recommend Harbour House Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a romantic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good location, personnel very kind, hotel to recommend
There are two things to change for a 5 star hotel: 1. it's better no flowers at all instead of putting something (made of plastic) that is not even similar to a flower; 2. upgrade the pathway between the buildings with a cover to skip rainfalls

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Fabio B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are please that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House Hotel and we appreciate your constructive comments, as it helps us improve.

We hope to welcome you back, should you one day return to Hermanus.

Kind Regards
Reneê Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a great time here and the rooms are lovely and spacious. Everything is spotless. Breakfast is huge and you can choose what you like.. Great location to see the whales and right beside the restaurants, shops and of course sea etc. All the staff were excellent for all three days and we met them all including Mr T. They were all really helpful re booking excursions even though it was through another tour operator. I would come back here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STRATH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $117 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing