We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
935 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great place to stay in Hermanus. Near to the bay where you can often see the whales.
Staff excellent and very helpful.
Directed us to and even booked the whale charter for us.
Nothing was too much trouble for then.
New build and central.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Dkkeeling. The Harbour House Hotel team thanks you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that your stay in Hermanus was enjoyable in all aspects, and trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    304
    84
    42
    38
See reviews for
159
555
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A reasonable hotel with an excellent location overlooking Walker Bay and adjacent to all bars and restaurants.
It holds an enviable position for whale watching between September and December.
Small with limited facilities but good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PelePurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear PelePurves. Many thanks for your kind comments after your recent visit to Hermanus, which are appreciated and have been passed on to the team. We do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The room for our overnight stay was spacious and had a balcony with lovely views across the bay.

Unfortunately, however, there were problems with the room. In the bathroom there was grunge around the shower; the toilet was situated in a position so that when the toilet/ bathroom door was opened, the person on the toilet got a nasty bang on the head; and a bar stool had a large hole in it with a jagged edge which, if we had not taken care, could have torn our clothes or even cut into our skin. We did complain to the staff about these matters but because the hotel was apparently full, they said we could not be moved to an alternative room.

Breakfast was probably the worst we've ever had anywhere. Choice was extremely limited and quantities were, on the whole, small. Staff were not particularly helpful either in the restaurant or in the hotel generally.

I would find it very hard to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Mikey077. Thank you for your valuable feedback, which we accept as being constructive. Please accept our apologies for these inconveniences you suffered as a result of poor service on our part - they are not our normal standards, and we will be addressing the issues with the relevant staff. We sincerely hope that you will be returning to hotel and assure you of our best intentions. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had an amazing Easter weekend break at harbour house. Staff were amazingly hospitable and couldn't do enough to be of assistance. Great rooms, great service and absolutely amazing location in centre of everything! Most recommendable and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Daniel T. On behalf of the HHH team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled to note that you had such a wonderful experience and look forward to welcoming back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our garden route honeymoon. The staff's knowledge on the companies to book with for whale watching, great white shark diving made our trips unforgettable. They also booked the nearby Bientangs cave (highly recommended), where you can watch the whales as you dine with fantastic views, also nearby Arabella golf course.

Our room was spotless, the bathroom could be doing with updating but still lovely. We had a lovely balcony with a view out to sea where you could sit and enjoy a glass of wine or even the complimentary MCC (lovely surprise and touch) and wath the sunset. So romantic.

With the hotel being so central, you leave the hotel and are on the cliffs, lovely walks and views. Even sitting by the pool or grabbing a bite to eat you can watch the whales, spectacular.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and are already thinking of our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tclark104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear tclark104. Many thanks for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled that you enjoyed part of your honeymoon in Hermanus, and look forward to welcoming back to The Harbour House Hotel soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The location is fabulous, and the service friendly, but it lacks a professional "polish". On the food side (they do breakfast every day and dinner 3 nights), it feels like they are only half heatedly in it. What a missed opportunity as he very popular Burgundy restaurant next door testifies. We had a "Penthouse" room, just top floor really; fairly new, but the fixtures already felt tatty and were of a low spec. We had. couple of maintenance issues with the plumbing, but they were fixed quickly. The Internet service was poor - complementary if you went and sat in the basement outside the business centre, but otherwise charged for...why do some hotels persist with Internet charging; it's le putting a coin meter for the electricity in every room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montcairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Montcairn. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of The Harbour House Hotel. We are most grateful for your honest feedback, which we accept as a valuable source of information for us to improve our services and the product we offer. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations in all areas and hope that that despite this we will have you as our guests again in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect and the rooms are modern And comfy but when I walked in to ask for a room I was shown a nice poolside room for r2000 a night incl breakfast but when compared to a3rd floor room which was modern And included a safe, aircon, new large tv and wardrobes for the same rate I booked that one . Poolside side room was over priced for what it was lacking! Also no Milk in your rooms for tea in the morning.
Poolside services slow and sometimes non existent however the greatest thing about the hotel is the pool. Best in Hermanus ! Harbour house get your staff trained to 5 star level that's what you need to do

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear bernie182. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the bedrooms, however must apologise for not meeting your expectations in all other areas. We do welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us improve and trust that we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at the hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing