We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise-what a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in Hermanus in 2010 but not at Harbour House. Choosing Harbour House in 2013 was the highlight of our Garden Route tour and we wished we stayed longer. We will definitely return!
The reception staff were knowledgeable and the bar/restaurant staff provided a good and timely service. The secure car park is a bonus.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Steve W. Many thanks for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 975 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Tis was a nice location for exploring the downtown of Hermanus. The manor house portion is old but well maintained. The staff was friendly but we found the overall service lacking. No hotel orientation, explanation of where the safes are located (which is not in the room), poor coffee service in the room, we had to request that the room be made up, it didn't appear to be automatic and there were missing items (washcloths, coffee, soap). The manor house rooms do not have AC and it is not safe enough to leave windows or doors open to enjoy the ocean breeze. The cost was fine. It has beautiful views and the perfect location for walking the cliff path early morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogdocsteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Dogdocsteyn. Many thanks for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and for your positive feedback with regards to the hotel. Noted also are the shortcomings you were subjected to during your stay and assurances that the issues have been addressed. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the perfect spot right on the coastline with a magnificent view!

We were disappointed that all we had to combat the heat was a "mist" fan. For a 5 star hotel I'd expect air conditioning. It would also have been nice to have some sort of music playback device - something I am quite used to in hotels these days.

We had great service from Lamla - although I can't say the same for management as I was told they were too busy to come and give us our 2 minute orientation in the room.

Nonetheless the hotel is perfectly situated and within easy walking distance to the top restaurants. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Imorum. Thank you for posting your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay and appreciate your constructive comments, as it helps us improve. We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Harbour House Hotel in January 2013 after travelling down from Cape Town. The room was amazing with a stunning view and the pool was great! The staff were really friendly and helpful, particularly Byron and Mr T who were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help us! Byron recommended two lovely restaurants where we enjoyed delicious meals (Lemon Butta and Annie's Kitchen).

We would highly recommend this Harbour House and will definitely be staying here again if we come back to the gorgeous Hermanus! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Ashley R. Thank you for your wonderful comments, which we have shared with all our staff. We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you as our guests again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sadly we only spent one night in this hotel. The rooms are beautifully furnished,light and airy.We were in the modern block and had views of the town and the bay. Breakfast was part buffet and part waiter service and we had a table by the pool.The cooked breakfast was excellent.We did not have time to use the small pool but it looked very clean, the only downside being that it was next to the road. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear AMGWales. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit SA. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Harbour House Hotel is situated right on the coast, and most of the rooms have views of the ocean. The hotel has two buildings. The main building is the old Harbour House, which has a number of boutique style rooms, very modern and funky. The second building is a modern block in the building next door. My friends were in the main building and we were in the modern building. All of us loved our rooms.

Our room was modern and tastefuly decorated. We had a small kitchenette and a private balcony which we hadn't expected. Even though we faced the coast road and the beach, the room was very quiet. The view from the balcony was great.

The breakfast bar was simple, but with sufficient choice and tasty food. Cooked food could be ordered from a menu.

The hotel garden has an infinity pool, but is practically on the coast road, so isn't very private.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

If I go back to Hermanus I would definitely stay there.

There is free wifi, but only in the business centre, in the basement of the modern block.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, to ensure you get one. If you want funky style request the old building. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear callumx. On behalf of the Harbour House team we would like to thank you for your review. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the many aspects of the hotel and that your expectations were met. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We started our Garden Route tour from Germany in Cape Town and directly went to Hermanus on arrival. Great Hotel & nice but small infinity pool.Good Service. Nice sourrounding. Unfortunately wrong timing of the year to watch whales.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Mike K. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your brief stay and look forward to seeing you next whale season. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $119 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing