We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location unbeatable, some small room issues, no sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location unbeatable, some small room issues, no sea view”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the hotel just after New Year. Based on the website and pictures I had very high expectations of the hotel and was a bit disappointed that we were assigned 2 rooms overlooking the parking area and the back of other buildings. I think we paid the same rate as sea view rooms, which makes them very expensive rooms with no view.

There were a couple of small issues with the rooms. We had no remote for the TV in our room - it was stolen or broken, so we had to use 'manual' control. In our daughter's room the peephole for the door was missing so you could look through the hole into their room (I stuffed paper in the hole after that). Wi-fi was expensive - it would have been nice to have wi-fi in the rooms.

The staff were pleasant and helpful' we arrived too early to check in so sat and had a drink on the verandah while we waited for one of the rooms to become available.

Breakfast was good, but not fantastic. We did not eat dinner at the hotel but chose to go out and try different restaurants in Hermanus.

The pool area is probably the 'catch point' of the hotel - clear blue water with a glass wall onto the road going by (which makes all passers-by 'gawk'); sunbeds overlooking the harbour and Walker Bay with the mountains behind, which is one of the most beautiful scenes in the world. This is what you are paying for - sitting on your sunbed, sipping a G&T, looking at the view and having people stare as they go past.

I enjoyed the stay but I would probably choose another hotel next time for that rate.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view. No joy in looking at the parking area from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaapieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sing-a-paw. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, but disappointed to note that your expectations were not fully met in other areas. We trust that despite this we shall again welcome you as guests to The harbour House Hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    302
    82
    41
    38
See reviews for
157
549
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed there for one night with my husband. First of all, the hotel has great location. We got a nice room with an ocean view, the room was clean and big; the only thing was that the shower was leaking- more cleaning for them; I was on vacation ;) Amazing view from the pool area- they do have a great pool, but the water unfortunately was not heated. I would definitely stay there again. Friendly staff is a plus. Good breakfast, but I think that we had to pay for it.

Room Tip: with a view on the ocean, harbour would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear MartaGK. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and hope you will happy to know that as a result of your feedback we have addressed the shower issue. Thank you again, for visiting us and we hope to welocme you bacck soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon and the hotel very kindly gave us a bottle of fizz and cake upon arrival in our lovely room. They also provide a cupcake every evening as part of the turn down - a nice touch! The hotel is in the perfect location, we had a room with a balcony that looked out over the bay to watch the Whales go by. The staff were friendly and helped us with booking boat tours and recommending restaurants for lunch/dinner - try and get them to book you an ocean side table at Bientangs for lunch (not open for dinner). Breakfasts were great but the braai (bbq) was quite disappointing as it took forever for them to cook, and it wasn't anything special - maybe it would be better on a super hot summer's day cooking it yourself with a group of friends.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room if you are there in Whale watching season
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JusnPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear JusnPhil. Congratulations. We are most happy that you chose The Harbour House Hotel to spend your Honeymoon and that you enjoyed your stay, except for a few issues. We trust that despite these we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at the hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Found through Trip Advisor it absolutely lived up to its reputation. Superb staff, rooms, location and breakfast. Would go back anytime. Highly Recommended..!! The only possible improvement would be to extend the free WiFi coverage throughout the hotel. Five Star.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Jogolancs. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is a real pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and we are absolutely looking forward to welcoming back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 31, a penthouse with amazing sea views. The rooms certainly have the wow factor and the views are exceptional. A great central place to stay for a few days. Megan the chef needs a special mention fora fabulous breakfast. We got chatting to her and she offered to cook a braai for us (no other guests booked in for dinner) which we accepted. She laid on a fabulous feast for us and made the outside table look amazing with tablecloths and lanterns. Please make sure you ask for this if you would like it when you stay, we thoroughly recommended. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for the second time at Harbour House Hotel over the weekend. It was yet again a wonderful experience. Rooms are spacios, clean, modern with great sea views. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. The view in the morning from the breakfast area are amazing. What a great place to have a quick city break.

Room Tip: Room 5 and 6 and room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a standard room with a view of the car park. The room was fine and spacious and had everything you needed for an overnight stop. The hotel is very well located for a wander round the town. Do visit the museums if you have time and are not there in whale watching season. Breakfast very good in pleasant grounds and good service. A very boring road if you are going east to Wilderness etc!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank scalloplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing