We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on route to Cape Town ,its in a lovely location and everything was very well sorted.

Did not stay for dinner but the breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
Ask for a sea view on the third floor you will not be disappointed.
Regret not staying longer but had too move on if going to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Third floor sea view rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back, should you oneday return to South Africa.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 964 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night in a beautiful room with stunning views over the pool and sea beyond. The staff were friendly but a number of things just made it not 10/10 for me. It was very hot while we were there and although there was a fan in the room there was no aircon which meant that the noisy fan was on all night circulating quite warm air. My room overlooked the dining room so I was woken earlier than I would have liked with the noise of the diners below. I understand that it was a busy period but was disappointed when they ran out of Sauvignon blanc before our arrival. Overall a very tastefully decorated hotel with beautiful rooms and toiletries but let down by the above and no free wifi in the rooms

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gráinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Grainne

The Harbour House team would like to thank you for shareing your experience with us.

Please accept our apology for the short comings that you were subjected to during your stay with us. This is certainly not the standards we strive for.

Your feedback is important to us and this will certainly be passed on to management to ensure that this does not happen again.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

it was a very nice trip & visit - all was very fine and nice ! good hotel ...!
its a great place in the middle of the town....great view and nice restaurants arround...
if you visit this place go there !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Lars

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Harbour House.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is right on the sea front, near perfect whale watching spots. You can't ask for a better location in Hermanus. We loved lying in bed watching the sea.

The room was very smart and spacious. The kitchenette does make a big difference and the mini-lounge / sitting area is not something you get in many hotels. The bathroom was ok.

Service at breakfast could have been better. There seemed to be too few staff on duty on both of the days.

Overall it's a place we will definitely go back to.

Room Tip: You must try and get one with a sea view and try not get the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signorands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Signorands

Your feedback is important and we thank you for taking the time to share is with us.

We are blessed to be located in such a central and prime location in Hermanus.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had booked in for one night and our independent trip along the Garden Route. We realised immediately after seeing the hotel and Hermanus that we should have stayed for longer with them, sadly no rooms were available. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was just perfect. he hotel is right on the cost, and everything is within easy walking distance

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milliekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Milliekes,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and great remarks.

We hope that should you one day return to South Africa, that you will enjoy another stay with us and for more than 1night next time.

Kind regards
Renee Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff very helpful and friendly, stunning location, close to all amenities and straight onto coastal paths. We chose a 2 bed self catering apartment which had great facilities, even a designated outside drying area, stunning sea views, untold wardrobes, super bathrooms, crisp bedding and was very, very spacious. Wished we could have stayed longer. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank bill14950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

On first glance the room is really well decorated and the kitchen is very helpful. Our room had a smoke detector that had 2 red lights that were so bright that it felt like we were on the set of star wars when the lights went out. Really annoyed me but most people wouldnt care im sure. Awesome breakfast, friendly staff, perfect location. At 1/3 the price of the marine it is good value but not nearly as nice. Please, paint over the red light on your smoke detector that sits right over the bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKUSTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $127 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing