We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harbour House........Stay more than 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Rugeley
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Harbour House........Stay more than 1 night”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had booked in for one night and our independent trip along the Garden Route. We realised immediately after seeing the hotel and Hermanus that we should have stayed for longer with them, sadly no rooms were available. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was just perfect. he hotel is right on the cost, and everything is within easy walking distance

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Milliekes,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and great remarks.

We hope that should you one day return to South Africa, that you will enjoy another stay with us and for more than 1night next time.

Kind regards
Renee Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    299
    82
    41
    38
See reviews for
156
547
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff very helpful and friendly, stunning location, close to all amenities and straight onto coastal paths. We chose a 2 bed self catering apartment which had great facilities, even a designated outside drying area, stunning sea views, untold wardrobes, super bathrooms, crisp bedding and was very, very spacious. Wished we could have stayed longer. Definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bill14950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

On first glance the room is really well decorated and the kitchen is very helpful. Our room had a smoke detector that had 2 red lights that were so bright that it felt like we were on the set of star wars when the lights went out. Really annoyed me but most people wouldnt care im sure. Awesome breakfast, friendly staff, perfect location. At 1/3 the price of the marine it is good value but not nearly as nice. Please, paint over the red light on your smoke detector that sits right over the bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKUSTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great value for money and a superb location. Had large room in main hotel for seven nights. Very comfortable and great view of bay from large balcony. Very friendly and helpful staff. However, suggest those that wait at table could sometimes move a little faster (or more staff?). Possibly a little more training required. Would certainly recommend and would go again.

Room Tip: Room # 7 is spacious, has a large balcony and a great view over the bay. Room is remote from hustle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed the two nights spent at this hotel... great location for sea views and sounds, walking distance to the village center with little art galleries, decor shops, vintage stores, restaurants, bars, and main tourists attractions. Fantastic pool overlooking the mountains and ocean right across the road, very helpful and friendly service, an overall happy and relaxed holiday atmosphere! Food not so good, but very relaxed about restaurant deliveries to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Fee

Thank you for takeing the time to share your experience with us.

We are truly blessed to be situated in such a beautiful and central location.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House Hotel and we hope to welcome you back some day.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a difficult review to write because I feel neither strongly one way or the other about the Harbour House Hotel. It has not forged an indelible mark in my memory - it is a story of what could have beens. This place should be incredible. The potential is there. But it just doesn't come together.

On the positive side, the location is fantastic and you could not ask for a better position. You are in the heart of Hermanus and you are within walking distance of so many different attractions. The pool and garden area are lovely - the pool has massive 'kerb appeal' and it attracts many stares from passers by. You are 'on show' to the whole town, so if you like people watching from the comfort of a lovely sunlounger by the pool, this is for you. If you are shy about showing your curves off to Joe Public, then think again!

Administratively, our booking was handled by Jamie with much aplomb and professionalism. Everything was done to try and accommodate us rather late in the day, and we were grateful for all the efforts on our behalf to secure our two rooms. Thank you.

After such a great start, it was disappointing to find the chaos which reigned at the reception desk when we checked in. One of our rooms was not ready when we arrived at 2.15pm, and check in time is from 2.00 pm onwards. We did not feel that anyone went out of their way to make us feel particularly welcome - it was just chaos with the four or five guys at reception running around like headless chickens. Order was restored when the Head Receptionist intervened, but it was too late. First impressions really matter.

We were in the top priced penthouse suite (not through choice, but down to availability) and for the price, I just expected more. The water pressure in the shower was dismal and not up to South African standards. It was also difficult to flush the toilet as it seemed that there were also issues with water pressure and a handle/button which was hard to engage. The 'Occitane' products in the bathroom were lovely, but otherwise, the bathroom was fairly small and really nothing special/5 Star.

The room itself had beautiful views and was furnished in a beach/white wood style which worked really well. There is a tiny little patio - enough for two people to sit outside, very close to each other. The hotel is also very close to other hotels, and this means that you are looking in on other people's rooms and lives. (You can also hear very clearly what is going on when you are in the toilet). The television remote control did not work, and despite three requests to have it sorted, we left with it still kaput.

Overall, the cleanliness of the room was fine, but the lift could do with a very good clean - there was a thick layer of dust around the carpet inside - not a good impression.

As mentioned, the pool area is lovely, but ordering drinks became a classic case of DIY. Whenever we wanted a drink, one of our party had to traipse through to the reception, resplendent in cossie, to ask if we could order something. Drinks were then brought after a while, and whenever we wanted a refill, it was the same routine. Not really 5 star service. When I tried to get hold of some beach towels, I was left standing at reception, not so resplendent in cossie, for a VERY long time, as the reception staff fawned over two ladies checking in who were obviously regulars. I was saved by the Head Receptionist who quickly saw that I had my towels delivered to the poolside.

Breakfast was fine - nothing special. The cold buffet is small and well presented, but my husband felt that the bread was tasteless. (No salt?) The fruit juice was not especially good - nothing freshly pressed here. On the first day my eggs had a strong 'fish' taste to them, or perhaps there had been too much vinegar in the poaching? Either way, my Eggs Benedict were a disappointment.

We came to Hermanus for New Year, and would have liked to have eaten and celebrated at the Hotel. However, the hotel's lovely (but very expensive) New Year's Dinner was exactly that - dinner only with no entertainment/music. What a missed opportunity. We went to the Tapas Bar around the corner to bring in the New Year instead. With such beautiful gardens and a fantastic setting, perhaps the Hotel will find a way to tailor a more reasonable package to keep their guests entertained. (And the revenue stream into the hotel).

Overall, we we LIKED the hotel, but didn't fall in love with it. We have driven past it many times in Hermanus and have at least satisfied our curiosity about what it's really like. The views are stunning, the location is perfect, the rooms are lovely. But dear guest, you are just a number..... In this business, service is everything. Notwithstanding the fact that the Hotel was fully booked at the busiest time of year, this is surely the acid test of just how good service levels are. Unfortunately, there is much room for improvement. What a pity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maija63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Maija63

We thank you for your constructive comments regarding the hotel and  appreciate your having the time to let us know how we are doing. 

Please accept our sincere apologies for the various inconveniences that you and your family experienced at the hotel and be assured that every effort is always made to satisfy our customers to the best of our abilities. Your feedback has been discussed with the management of the hotel, eg the poor service experienced at check-in, water pressure in the shower, service at the pool area, etc and once again, we thank you for pointing out these issues to us, they are not our normal standards and we will be addressing them as a matter of urgency with the relevant staff.

We are also happy to note that despite your experience, you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay, and look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

On the first night, we stayed in the romantic room. Beautiful white clean room with the biggest bath tub ever. There is a sitting sofa area and the tv is situated near the sitting area rather than the bed. Which means that we can't really watch tv lying in bed.
Nice big balcony, walked out and there u can see whales!
On the 2nd night, we moved to a different room at the other wing, The room is smaller than the romantic room but we actually prefer it. It comes with a mini kitchen, with microwave. Fantastic for us to prepare salad n microwave food for lunch.

Breakfast is excellent. Buffet spread for breads, cereals & yogurt. But they have a good selection of hot breakfast made to order. We ordered the eggs with bacon. It's good.
Good location, cross a road and there u r at the sea looking at whales.
Walkable to a good selection of restaurants, 5 mins walk to Johnny Rockets & KFC.

We rented a car and have no issue with parking. Can choose covered parking or outdoor parking (at the entrance if the hotel).

Pool is not that private as it near the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimidichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing