We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful little hotel with great view on the whales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, perfect located on the cliff from where you can see loads of whales during the season (end of november they migrate). The room was very cute and also the garden quite nice with a small swimming pool. Only the people at the reception should definetely improve in terms of being noce an friendly...at the end of the day this is their job!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Floc77

Thank you for takeing the time to share your experience.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room, the property and the whale viewings made your time in Hermanus a memorable one.

I would like to take the time to apologise for the unfriendliness of the staff. This is certianly not the level of service that we strive for and I can assure you that this will not be overlooked and will be dealt with promptly.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 999 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

we only had a very short stay in the Harbour House, but it was very nice and relaxed. It was the one place we didnt spend too much time on when booking, as we only arrived at lunchtime, and had to leave at 630 the next morning to go shark diving. But have to stay it exceeded all our expectations. We arrived about lunchtime from Cape Town, and our lovely "Romantic room" was ready. As we were on honeymoon they pulled out all the stops with the room. We had a lovely lunch by the pool, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location to see the whales also. if your lucky enough youll see them lying by the pool, and the new harbour, where they do the whale tours, is only 5 mins down the road. The only marks id take off were that the safe wasnt in the room, it was in another location within the hotel, there was only wifi in the business centre downstairs, but even then it wasnt great and unfortunately the restaurant in the hotel wasnt open the night we were there, but we ate in a lovely tapas place across the road.

Room Tip: Romantic Room on the ground level was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Theboysi

Thank you for posting your comments and shareing your experience with us.

There is wifi availability throughout the Hotel and Manor House which may be purchased, however we do offer free wifi in our Business Centre.

We have only recently introduced Lunch and Dinner at Harbour House of which we are now open for lunch daily and serve Dinner from Tuesdays - Saturdays.

We are happy to know that we contributed in making your honeymoon special.

From all the staff at Harbour House Hotel, we would like to wish you all the best for your marriage and new life journey together.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This review relates to Room 22 - Corner location sea view.

My husband and I stayed here for one night for the purpose of whale watching and the room location allowed a view of the bay and an opportunity to see whales from the balcony.

Our room was in the newer part of the property and was very comfortable with modern fixtures and fittings, separate seating area and kitchen facilities and was not dissimilar to a studio type apartment.

The breakfast selection was fine with hot and cold options. We did not eat dinner at the property but across at Burgandy restaurant which was superb.

There was a small pool which overlooked the bay and had sun loungers, might be a nice bonus when the weather is warmer.

Personally we had no issues with the property and were perfectly happy with our choice and the friendliness and competence of the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great room with attentive and helpful staff. Whales can be viewed from your balcony which is a stones throw from the bay. Breakfast cooked to order and first class. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights just to see the Whales. Our room was bright, clean and spacious and, being on the first floor, allowed a view of the bay and whales from our balcony.
The staff were exceptionally helpful, although it did take a couple of askings before the breakfast tea was replenished on both mornings.
Would recommend the hotel, to anyone needing a convenient spot to rest while enjoying the central location in Hermanus.

Room Tip: If you want to see Whales, you must specify a sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveB226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just spent three nights at Harbour House. The room (No. 2) was palatial and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and we had absolutely no problem with the breakfast service that other reviewers have commented on. A very good hotel for visiting Hermanus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

this is our second time staying here, and we will continue just coming back. The view, the rooms, the location and friendliness from the staff. Nothing was to much trouble.

We had a wonderful time, cannot wait to come back again.

Room Tip: we always have a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
754 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $119 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing