We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Romantic spalsh out!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Be Romantic spalsh out!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I had to check their website to make sure i had the right hotel as I could not believe the 2 bad reviews I read. The hotel is delightful and great value. You cant blame them for increasing their price in peak season surely!! The berakfase although not yhe vast buffet of the chains was delightfully cooked and preented by smiling waitresses. A joy to behold first thing in the morning. The breakfast small but perfect and you could have as much as you wanted. Fruit plate wonderful, yoghurt and honey as good as anywhere , the hot choice all you could eat and cooked to order. We were fusyy abourt our eggs and asked for crispy bacon. All done to perfection. The toast brown whole wheat soyr dough. What more could you want. The romantic roome designed to whithin an inch of their lives. Room 4 the biggest, with large balcony however a bit shaded, room 5 good views and best bathroom, but we chose room 6, best view we thought and largest bed. (the room from 5 was probably better but only yo the north). The staff couldny have been more helpful. They lent us binnoculars for the stay, catered to our every fussy whim re restaurants and tours. They got us on a fully booked whale boat as we arrived. thats service. Every one has a smile and wanted to help perfectly. and best of all we are off tonight with Anilese to her local church for a gospel service. Wow we love the local culture. Please stay here. It is in the centre of towm, you can walk everwhere, the pool and view delightful. We love it!!!

Room Tip: Spend the money on a "romantic room" if you can afford it. No.4 is the biggest, but number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    304
    84
    42
    38
See reviews for
159
555
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location is excellent within walking distance to many great restaurants I booked the accomodation and also requested reception to pls arrange for flowers as it was our 10th wedding anniversary...12 beautiful red roses awaited us on arrival. We loved the room in the penthouse area. We were disapointed with breakfast and voiced our opinion with reception that this Grand establishment requires some urgent refurbishment to the breakfast area and layout. Would love to visit again.....rates however slightly on the high side for us local SA residents.

Room Tip: Penthouse room 35 may not have the best view , but noise level was low as away from street side.Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunther b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Gunther

I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that the staff couldnassist in making your 10th wedding anniversary that little bit extra special.

The receptionist on duty has given your feedback regarding breakfast to management who will be looking into the matter.
Thank you for your constructive criticism. With this we can better the faults and perhaps ensure a flawless stay to future guests at our establishment.

Many safe travels and we hope to welcome you back to Harbour House in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed in Harbour House in April. For R600 per night per room. And a lovely place to stay.
However when I tried to book a room for Aug, definately not peak season, I was quoted R2100 per night for the same room we stayed in in April. That is more than 3x the price.
I booked into a different guesthouse and was surprised when I walked past Harbour House that the advertised rate on the billboard outside the hotel was R650. When I went to query this inside, it seemed that they were shocked at the rates I was given as this was rates only starting in Sep.
If I had booked and paid those rates, I would have been fuming mad to see what people pay as a "walk in" rate.
So punishment for a booking and planning a trip is you get ripped off.
Sorry Harbour House, I need peace of mind for my holidays, not a "hope they have a room available when I get there" thing.
Not on my word of mouth list anymore.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear reviewer

We do offer guest a “tonight only” rate, and feel that this is not unique to our hotel, but is used by many hotels globally. Hermanus receive many day visitors who travel for whale watching or popular wine tours, some of these guests then decide to stay the night in Hermanus and thus we and many of the hotels and guesthouses in Hermanus offer a last minute rate when we do have a room available for the night. The rate that is advertised outside our hotel is currently for our Traveller’s Places classification; this room does not offer the same views and location within the hotel as our regular classifications.

We do offer specials and promotional offers during the year on our standard rates and we feel compared to other hotels in Hermanus, our rate is on par with the services and facilities we offer.

Although you were not a guest at Harbour House Hotel during this visit, we do hope you enjoyed your stay in Hermanus.

Kind Regards
Reneê Diane Hibbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We walked into this hotel because we were impressed by how it looks from outside. To our surprise the inside looks equally impressive and super clean.
The staff at the reception was friendly and even gave us a free upgrade to deluxe room.
Its ideally located in the center of town and walking distance to the mall, museum and other eateries.
Internet is available on computer terminal downstairs, I hope they can improve by providing free WiFi in future.
They have a stunning swimming pool which overlooks the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi_9909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Fantastic place to stay with family. In the center of town and therefore you can walk to any restaurant or shop. Staff was very friendly and overall a great experience. Stunning swimming pool that overlook the ocean, however the weather didn't permit the use thereof.

Room Tip: Stayed in the apartment with 2 kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Annie,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that the staff contributed towards your great experience. We are blessed to be situated in the "heart of Hermanus".

We look forward to welcomimg you back to Harbour House in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Brilliant. Loved the place. Hotel staff very friendly and gave plenty of advice about what to see and do. Fantastic veiws from our room, would have stayed longer if we didn't have a flight to catch. Have booked to stay here again next year and looking forward to it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Situated just on the cliff in the city center, it has the best location in Hermanus, you can watch whales from the terrace. There is a lovely swimming pool that overlook the ocean. It s really in the center of Hermanus, you can walk to any restaurant, museum, shops. Friendly staff, services excellent and room immaculate. You can rent bikes at the hotel for a day. We had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandycou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing