We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Bellville, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Many thanks to Mariane Maree and her team for a most enjoyable X-mas experience and a great fix-up job after an initial glitch. We will definitely recommend Harbour House to all our friends and will surely make use of it again.

We loved the new pool, which was evident in the reaction from the passers-by, and fantastic views.

Kind Regards

Riaan Visser

PS. A discount for frequent guests will be a welcomed addition.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    292
    80
    41
    37
See reviews for
151
534
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The location is brilliant with stunning views. The rooms are minimalistic modern, very clean, functional. The staff always smiling and anxious to please. During our stay it was too windy to be confortable in the pool area and a lounge to relax in would be have been welcome. The curved pool was a great attraction. Breakfast was of a good quality but a buffet might have worked better. But altogether an enjoyable stay.
The initial request to pay the full amount in advance by credit card, even before arriving, we felt was not justified. On complaining this was reducing to 50%. Most hotel merely require a credit card inprint.

Room Tip: Upper floors, sea facing are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for two days during Dec 2011 and found the new swimming pool area to be a great addition to the hotel. It povided a far better experience compared to our previous visits to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed there for 8 days. Everything was wonderful. The only negative aspect is that the front rooms with the best views need double glazed windows as the noise from the nearby night club is disturbing. Apart from that I can really recommend this Hotel as can be seen in my ratings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our stay at Harbour House was average. The view was exceptional as was the location, however on arrival at reception the desk was empty... when we eventually found someone and were shown to our room there were hairs on the floors and in the bathroom. Breakfast was unorganised and the second day was in a completely different building even.

A fine stop over but in comparison to the beautiful guesthouses of south africa this was far from hitting the mark for us.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbour House Hotel. We do apologise for the poor service you received during your stay with us as this is not the standards we aspire to. We take every complaint very seriously and use these comments constructively to ensure necessary improvements are made.

Kind Regards
Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My family and I stayed in the Le Paradis apartment for 3 nights. A great experience with awesome sea views and professional service from the Harbour House staff, who went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as ever.
We enjoyed an all round relaxing time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waheed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

This place was heavenly. Clean, bright, modern...and in the most incredible location ever. It was our first time in Hermanus and if we ever go back we will certainly stay here.
Although it rained almost the entire time we were there the massive modern bath tub made up for it all. Sadly, we didnt get to swim in the beautiful pool but next time we will hope for some sun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing