We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
ayrshire scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fabulous choice”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Perfect situation with just a step across the road taking you to the famous whale watching cliffs of Hermanus. the rooms were very well appointed with excellent use of space and opening to a private balcony with views to die for. Television (as if you need it) and a nice kitchen area to prepare light lunches (microwave, kettle, glasses, cups and cutlery) Bathrooms were luxurious and clean. Staff very helpful. A step across one road and you enter an area littered with restaurants for all tastes. Considering its location and facilities it was very reasonably priced. Ours was described as "partial sea view" but still very acceptable views. Well recommended. A must try !

Room Tip: sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomp246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
On behalf of the Harbour House team I would like to thank you for your positive review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    309
    87
    42
    39
See reviews for
164
562
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for two nights as part of our trip along the garden route. The staff were very helpful indeed and breakfast (albeit across the road) was a real treat. A bit of traffic noise overnight, but amply compensated for by the sea views - we saw whales breaching from our balcony.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 394Peter_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
On behalf of Harbour House Hotel and our staff we would like to say thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I booked to stay at the Harbour House Hotel during my fist visit to South Africa and was thoroughly impressed, a very nice place indeed.

The hotel's location within Hermanus is hard to beat, right on the ocean front and foot steps into the town centre as well.

I was warmly and pleasantly greeted upon check in and every member of staff I came into contact with was very pleasant and helpful. I feel a special mention is deserved by Maryke, thanks for typing up those directions to Kleinbaai for me. It's little things like that, that make a difference.

There is no restaurant or bar at the Harbour House but you are so close to town it doesn't really matter. Breakfast is available at a restaurant just across the road.

Secure, remote controlled, gated car parking is available, under and to the rear of the hotel, for a nominal price, 20 Rand/night during my stay. There are several free parking spaces just outside the front of the hotel too

My room was a "premier" room. Basically a sea/ocean view room and I feel it was well worth the price premium. The views across the bay and out to the mountains are fantastic. If you visit Hermanus and stay in a premier room during whale season, you'll be able to do some whale watching right on your balcony with a pair of binoculars. It is however a very short walk to the cliff paths for an even better view. One night I also recall being sat in my room with the balcony door open and could hear a whale blowing just out near the old harbour which put a smile on my face, it was something nice and different for me anyway.

The room itself was of a high standard in all ways. More than ample in size and nice nuetral but stylish decor. High quality furniture and fittings. I found the mini kitchen a very convenient facility to have. The bathroom has a separate bath and shower cubicle. A big television set gave me my first experience of South African television. The desk featured a useful international power socket board that will accept SA/UK/Euro and US plugs without the need for an adapter. Everything was very clean and tidy both in the room and the public areas of the hotel. I didn't find noise to be a problem at all despite the road side and sea front location.

I note from a previous review that mention was made of there being no suitable chairs for sitting out on the balcony. My and it would appear all the other rooms are now provided with good solid outdoor chairs for use on the balcony. Now that's a good positive response.

My main reason for being in the area was for shark cage diving, which was so good I had decided before I left I would come back to do again in 2012. Without the slightest doubt I will stay at the Harbour House Hotel. I found it to be a very good hotel of a very high standard with top quality staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your stay at Harbour House Hotel.
It’s rewarding knowing that our staff has contributed in making your first visit to South Africa a pleasant one.
We are very excited to announce that our own restaurant and bar will be opening soon.
We look forward welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Took 45 mins to run a bath, shower was a drip. Had two rooms one heater did not work. Such a pity because rooms and bathrooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dooogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.Thank you for your possitive comment regarding our rooms and bathroom.
We do apologize that you had a problem with the water pressure during your stay at Harbour House Hotel this is certainly not the standards we strive to have at our property.
We have notified our maintenance team and they have addressed the problem.
We hope to welcome you back in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and was an ideal base for visiting Hermanus and primarily whale watching. The hotel was in a lovely location, certain rooms had a lovely view of the sea and it was only a few minutes walk to very good restuarants and bars. The hotel was very nice, clean and the staff friendly, they were only too pleased to arrange whale watching trips on our behalf which meant we didn't have to search around for the best provider. And we did see plenty of whales, even from our balcony! The rooms were clean and crisp and had plenty of space. Two minor points were that breakfast was provided across the road in a (very nice) cafe rather than on site, and unless you could use one of the few spaces in front of the hotel for parking on the street, the private secure parking behind the building was charged at a daily rate. We had no problems with parking at the front, but in the summer season spaces may be harder to come by

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to watch the whales from your room.

Unfortunately, our guesthouse that served as our breakfast venue burned down in May 2010 and we have had to make alternative arrangements at The Burgundy, situated directly opposite the hotel. We are however very excited to announce that our own facilities will be up and running shortly and our guests will be able to enjoy breakfast on-site. As mentioned in the response below we do offer parking options to our guests on arrival.

It is always great to receive feedback from our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This accommodation was excellent, the service as well. A very bright spot in our trip. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller201188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Head Reception at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
On behalf of Harbour House Hotel and our staff, we would like to say Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are most pleased that we were able to be a part of your holiday to South Africa and helped in making it as memorable as possible.

We hope that one day if you decide to return to Hermanus, We will have the priviledge of welcoming you back to our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We arrived here not having booked and were given a choice of 3 rooms to choose from.
Renee the receptionist remembered our name when we walked in even though it was 2 years previously that we last stayed there.
The rooms have all the same facillities ,fridge,microwave ,toaster everything available to make your own breakfast if you want to,which after the huge breakfasts available on our travels which we said we would not eat everyday but nearly always did ,made a welcome change.

Beds and bathroom facilities were good quality and most rooms on the front have sea views.
There were lots of restaurants within safe walking distance and renee was quite happy to make reservations.

All rooms have a small balcony which would certainly benefit from having a couple of chairs to relax on,some guests were sitting outside on their breakfast bar stools,which did'nt look very comfortable,this was my only gripe in an otherwise pleasant stay

We wlll be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean/bManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Head Reception at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We are so pleased that you chose to again stay with us on your return visit to South Africa.

It is especially rewarding knowing that our staff has contributed in making your stay with us as pleasant as possible.

We would like to thank you for mentioning the chairs on the balcony and the fact that the guests were useing the bar chairs and that they were not the most comfortable. We apologise should this have made your stay unpleasant.

Im sure you will be pleased to know that since we have been made aware of the situation we have addressed the problem and we have in fact purchased comfortable chairs for the balconies.

Once again thank you for your comment and for helping us to improve the establishment in order to make our future guests stay memorable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel in the future and that you will be happy with the change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing